Fred is officially disabled

Just thought I’d share, for family members who visit my blog and folks who might be wondering about what we’re up to. My hubby of 24 years, Fred, is now officially disabled. His back is so bad he can’t work now so we’re applying for occupational disability through the RailRoad. He has 3 disks that have slipped and progressive debilitating arthritis  or something like that. All I know is that he hurts an awful lot, poor guy. So anyway when we get the disability our income will be about half of what it used to be when we worked full time and we’ll probably have to move. Already we’ve missed a house payment, which is terribly humbling, but that’s the nature of the beast. We’re seeing if our house loan can be refinanced with one of the Obama plans for lower interest rate so people don’t lose their homes. If we lose our current home we’ll move closer to my folks and get the kids closer to their church.

We’re kind of philosophical about the house. We love our house, but it’s just a house and if the Lord needs us elsewhere, well, we’re not going to argue with Him. That never gets anyone anywhere. And it’s not like anyone has died or lost a limb or become blind or deaf. Not that those are impossible to overcome, just that it’s easier to move than it is to adjust to never hearing or seeing again, easier to move than learning to use just one hand or one leg. It’s just a house, a material object and those can easily be replaced. People, arms, legs, ears and eyes aren’t so easy to replace. Our home really is where our heart is, not where our house is. Hearts are eternal, houses are temporal.

I’m not sure what the Lord has planned for us, but I’m interested to see where He leads us and how he provides for us during this challenging time.

23 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

23 responses to “Fred is officially disabled

  1. CharlieAnn

    May God bless and take care of you through these times.

  2. Clare Usmar

    Miss Maggie, I’m so sorry to hear that. I thank God that you continue to trust him at this challenging time, and that you have a heavenly view of your home and possessions. I’ll be praying the Lord would grow you to be more like Jesus through this,

  3. Thanks for your kind comments. We can certainly use the prayers. 🙂 On the bright side, our family is doing well, the boys are doing great and Fred and I, our relationship, is stronger and sweeter than ever, so even in this, there are elements to be thankful for; blessings to count. It’s tempting to see the hardship, but I guard my thoughts and focus on the blessings instead. Once you get started on thinking of the good stuff it’s easy to keep on that path.

  4. Robyn

    Dear Miss Maggie,
    i think of you often and I’m praying for you during this time of changes. I love your attitude – you’re right, there are so many things to be thankful for in the midst of all the difficulties,’and a house is just a house.

    Thank you for the update!

    Hugs to you and God bless,
    – Robyn

    • Thanks Robyn, it’s challenging, but not the greatest challenge we’ve ever faced, as a couple and as a family. Still, I am looking forward to the good times that will come afterwards. Hope your family is doing well, including the most recent addition.

  5. MaggieinAL

    “Hearts are eternal, houses are temporal.” Love this. Love you girl. Sorry it took me so long to see this post. Running as usual. Will sit down and write you a letter soon. Will be praying for Fred’s back. T. has one herniated disc and I know it is painful enough. Thanks for the update!

  6. Aww, thanks Maggie 🙂 I understand about running, I stay busy, so don’t worry about writing if you can’t find the time. Your prayers are much appreciated. Sorry about T’s back. It’s painful for the loved ones who are hurting, but it’s uncomfortable for us to witness and feel so helpless cause we can’t fix it. If I could have my druthers Fred would suffered a lot less thorugh all of this. Both Physically and Spiritually. He’ll plugging along though and I’m very proud of his good attitude. At times it’s a challenge to maintain, but he’s doing so good, makes me remember why I fell in love with him to begin with.

  7. Vicki

    Oh Maggie, I am so sorry you are going through this. I wish you the best and I know that everything happens for a reason. It is hard to go through change though.Good luck to you!

  8. Thanks Vicki 🙂 Everything does happen for a reason. 🙂

  9. I frequent your homeschooling sight often, and today thought I would mosey on over to your blog. Although we are not having the health/pain issues that your husband is experiencing, the economy has drastrically affected our family’s income. We have been living on about a third of what we were accustomed to, and yes, we missed house payments as well. I just want you to know that I love your attitude about it. It is the same I have tried to take through it all. It is just a house. We make it a home. And it is oh, so very humbling. I’m glad I came by tonight. I will be praying for you. Your book links have been a great help to me in homeschooling my four with the decreased income. What a blessing!
    Linda in GA

  10. Wendy

    I was so sorry to read what is happening Maggie. I have to say your spirit and attitude towards it is so inspiring. You remind me through your faith and strong determination not to give up on things. Thank you Maggie again for being a great example of Christian living. I will keep you, Fred, and your family in my prayers. God may be opening a new chapter in your life. God bless you Maggie, and thank you for sharing all your wonderful recipes and years of experience with us novice ‘learning’ homemakers.

  11. Jennifer

    Maggie, I’ve just found your blog, although I’ve frequented your homeschooling site for years, and Hillbilly Housewife when you still had it. Anyway, I just wanted to offer some encouragement. Like Linda above, the economy has hit our family hard. My husband lost his job of 10 years in January of 2008. His unemployment was half of what he’d been making, and within that year, we lost our house. It took him over two years to find a job, and once again our income was cut in half. We are now living on 1/4 of what we were just three short years ago.

    However, God has used these events and this time in our lives in some pretty amazing ways. We ended up moving in with my parents, who were also struggling financially due to the economy. Their property is bigger than ours was (although the house is not) and so we’ve been able to share resources and take on projects that neither of us would have done alone – such as raising chickens, growing three vegetable gardens, selling firewood on the side, etc. We’ve also all grown closer and are planning a future together, which as my parents are aging is not a bad thing at all. It’s not all roses of course, but homeschooling the kids through this time has been such a blessing and has strengthened our faith in so many amazing ways, that I really feel blessed. Having the right attitude is key, and clearly you do. I wish your family well, and will pray for you.

    God Bless from North Carolina

  12. Maggie, I check in every once in a while to see how things are going for you. I am sorry to hear about your husband being on disability. My husband went out on permanent disability 2 years ago. Our income dropped drastically to and I had to go back to work full-time. Lots of changes, lots of challenges…but one thing we have seen is that the Lord is faithful and has cared for us in ways we could never imagine. Praying for you all.

  13. amy

    Dear Mrs Maggie,
    Your spirit is so strong I am so sorry to hear you are going through so much and you and your dear husband Fred and kids are in my prayers you are right in looking at challenges as things we can overcome. You are a very talented woman of God and I loved your hillbilly housewife site when you had it and I am glad you have this site. I hope Christmas was a blessing to you this year and wish you and yours the best for 2012. Its been a tough year for us too and I hope it gets better for us all this year with faith in the Lord we can’t go wrong!
    God bless
    Amy

  14. Thankyou so much for all of your hard work on the gluten free recipes. My daughter was recently diagnosed with Celiacs disease and eating gluten free on our budget has been a nightmare. Your glad mix, biscuit recipe and tortilla recipe are lifesavers! Thankyou so very much.

  15. Merrilee

    Maggie, I hadn’t been to your site for awhile since I wasn’t really into doing CFGF, but today I came over to find some seasoning mix recipes as my own husband has not done well financially this year, and saw all the changes you are making to the site and got curious. I am so sorry your husband is not doing well, and your family will be in my prayers. My own husband had a mild stroke last year so I can relate to the troubles you have been having. Still, God is good, all the time. He always provides for His own.

  16. Jana

    Mrs. Maggie, I haven’t visited here in a while, but I dropped in to catch up today. I am so sorry to har about your husband’s pain. My husband has always worked in a physically demanding field also, so we really rely on his physical health. I will be praying for you.
    *I wonder if you’ve ever tried using any essential oils for back pain & arthritis? Just wondering because we use a lot of different oils for arthirits, tendonitis, and back pains. I found a Christian company called Heritage Essential Oils that we really like. Just a thought to try and get some relief! *

  17. sharron s.

    Mrs. Maggie, have you tried DMSO for pain relief? We have just begun to use it for minor aches and scrapes in my home. Google it if you’ve never heard of it. Only possible side effect? It may make him smell like oysters, but I’ll bet he’d rather smell of oysters so long as it took the pain away.

  18. You have such a practical view amid such stress. I pray that blessings will come your way.

  19. I am sorry your husband is in so much pain and that he is now on permanent disability. I totally understand the struggles with that as my husband is on permanent disability for a little over 3 years now. There are so many challenges (financially, emotionally, physically). For us our income dropped 3/4 so I had no choice but to find a job as we just couldn’t make it without that. One thing I wanted to share with you though is that we saw God provide in ways we could never imagine. I pray that His will is made known to you, that your husband can find some relief and that the Lord provides strength for you each day.

  20. Amy

    I will keep you in my daily prayers. I had a hard time like this too in my life and now God has giving me with a better life. I pray that God will care for you and your family too. Blessings

Leave a Reply

