Making the Best of It!

This is my healthy-eating-manifesto. It doesn’t cover gluten-free or casein-free, it’s just the standard American diet, made as economical and as healthy as I know how. Eventually I’ll write more about GFCF stuff, but for now I’m updating all my regular recipes for regular cooking because most of my readers are looking for ways to make their regular diet more nutritious without costing an arm and a leg. The article is linked below. It’s in PDF format. I believe I’ve edited out most of the kinks but if you find some typos please let me know.

Making the Best of It!

Moving from a fat-filled, sugar-laden stupor to a leaner, healthy lifestyle. 

For epub and mobi versions go here.

Please comment on this article here. Any tips along these lines you’d like to share are also welcome. I really wanted to get this article finished and published before I worked on the rest of my site. Making the Best of It! is like the premise that I want to base my site on. With it published it’s easier for me to maintain my focus on the goals I’m trying to accomplish. Hope you enjoy it, and even if you don’t, please let me know.

16 Comments

Filed under Budget, Family, Food, Grocery Shopping, Low Cost Foods

16 responses to “Making the Best of It!

  1. Maggie!!! Thank you!!! I am going through it now. This will be HUGE help to my family of 6, soon to be 7 kiddos!!!! Thanks Again!!!!

    Robin

  2. Maggie

    Whoo, you have a nice large family Robin. Fred and I always wanted more kids, but the Lord decided otherwise. Let me know what you think of it when you get done reading it. happy I can be of help.

  3. Just found a typo when reading through again…still reading again…

    • Maggie

      Please tell me where you found it, which page, which column and which paragraph. Any more you find, please let me know. I found a couple of them too and will correct them over the weekend and update the documents. Thanks!

  4. Maggie that was very well written!! It is stuff I have learned from you over the years of following hillbilly and frugal abundance. Thank you!!

    We haev been eating beans for years now thanks to you!!
    I use molasses and honey in place of sugar for the most part.
    I had been making my own bread but I now get free bread!

    I love your idea of keeping veggies out with a small bowl of dipping! Great idea!!

    My three oldest were dx Celiacs and then this year we found out they DON”T have it. UGH!! Then the little man after them is possible autistic, very low spectrum. He used to throw up at least 5 times a day! UGH!!! He still can’t have too much dairy and he eats limited gluten prodcuts.

    We also do very very limited process foods. So bad for you!!

    So you know I am following and have been looking forward to Frugal Abundance’s update and for you to have the time to get back on. I was praying for Fred and his health as well as the other issues you had going on for a while. Glad things are starting to settle down for you!!!

    In Christ,
    Robin

    • Maggie

      Ugh! you’ve been around the block with your kids and gluten and autism. I know from personal experience that is a hard row to hoe. I think one of the best things any of us can do for our family’s health is reduce the number of processed foods we buy. The old Hippies were right, whole foods are better. At our house we still eat a few processed items, but we eat far fewer than we used to and I know it makes me feel better. I suspect it improves the kid’s behavior too.

      My boys aren’t 100% gluten-free. They’re about 95% gluten-free. We call this gluten-light. We keep gluten down to as low as possible, but a few things we buy the regular version of, like regular rolled oats and store-brand rice chex cereal, instead of the more expensive guarateed Gluten Free versions. These products are very low in gluten, but not necessarily 100% gluten-free.

      While the boys have been at camp their dad and I have eaten more gluten, especially homemade whole wheat bread and plain saltine crackers. They have such a treat and so far it hasn’t bothered me. You aer so lucky to get free bread!

      Thanks for praying for my family’s health. I said a prayer for your family too. I’m happy you’re enjoying the updates. I plan to continue them over the entire summer.

  5. Gretchen

    Miss Maggie,

    Your Making the Best of It Article is very well done. I have always enjoyed your common sense approach to things and I found this in the article as well. I also appreciate how you explain the choices your family has made, but make it clear that these choices aren’t for everyone, just what you have chosen to do. My family is also attempting to reduce our use of processed foods and increase our whole grain, fruits and vegetable consumption. You are right, you absolutely can eat healthy on a tight budget. I look forward to further posts.

    Gretchen

  6. Maggie

    Thanks Gretchen, I really appreciate your input. Eating healither is not exactly easy to do, but it’s not as hard as I thought it would be either. I’m glad you enjoyed the article. 🙂

  7. So glad that I found your site! I found the Hillbilly Housewife a couple of years ago and followed you. Your recipes are awesome and I love all of your tips. I’ve tried to incorporate them into my life as I work to pay off graduate student loan debt.

  8. Maggie

    That’s so nice to hear Heartland Frugalista. I’m delighted I could be of help. Love your name by the way, very clever. 🙂

  9. Your article is very well written!! I have always enjoyed the information that you put out so lovingly. As you state, our family uses a few products differently than your family, but your article should be required reading! I would like to post a link to it on Facebook, if you don’t mind, to try and get the info out there to folks that need it. Thank you so much for taking the time to type all that out! God has blessed us with you, Miss Maggie!

  10. Maggie

    Please feel free to share it Abbey. It took some time to get all my thoughts together but I felt really good about it when I was done. Thanks for your comments. 🙂

  11. Me

    Sooo glad you’re back to doing frugal recipes. I miss your original HBHW (not a fan of the new one). Looking forward to new recipes. Glad you’re back!

  12. Maggie

    Thanks Me, I’m happy to be here. 🙂

  13. Karen S.

    Dear Miss Maggie,
    Thank you for posting gluten free, budget friendly recipes. I followed HBHW years ago and loved it, (OFE also), but backed away when my youngest was found to be gluten intolerant. I’ve spent the last seven years relearning how to cook and shop. Now you are back with gluten free stuff. How perfect! I think your tips and recipes will be a big help. Thanks again for all your work and willingness to share!
    Sincerely, Karen

  14. Maggie

    My pleasure Karen, I hope to be updating soon, but as always, real life takes ahold of me and pulls me into reality, when all I really want to do is languish in the kitchen and then share on the Net. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

