Comments on updates, here please

I am updating FA right now and OE (or OFE) should be up and running now too. The updates to FA will take the rest of the week and perhaps a little longer, but I’m working on them non-stop so things should be orderly before too long.

I considered redoing my website on a blog the way so many of them are now. It would have allowed for comments on each recipe, but then I looked into the cost of these packages and it’s beyond me. So in the interest of saving money I’m keeping my basic format of  a single recipe per page and easy naviagtion via a recipe index (or several, as the case may be).

I am interested in input in what you would like to see in a budget cooking website and any old-favorites you’d like to see again. Also, any doll enthusiasts, I’m always happy to hear from you too.  I’ll have time over the summer to do more work, and I plan to take advantage of that to remake things into a cohesive whole.

 

29 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

29 responses to “Comments on updates, here please

  1. MaggieinAL

    Hey Honey!! Good to ‘see’ you! 🙂

    • Maggie

      Hey there sweetie-pie. It is a delight to see you too. :-). I’ve been wanting to talk to you. I have a couple of math books that we just finished up with that belong to you. Would you like me to send them back? Please let me know.

      • MaggieinAL

        Hmmm. I forgot you had them. 🙂 Are they Saxon? We’ll figure it out. Do you have my email?

    • Maggie

      I don’t know if I do or not. You can email me. I don’t think they’re saxon. They were consumer math. I’ll have to look for them to be more specific. I do know that I had both my boys use them and their cousin too and they were very practical. Drop me a line and we can figure it out.

  2. I like the way you already have it set up, it’s very easy to find my way around. I have enjoyed all of your recipes that I have tried. I really like the ones that make the most of cheap yet healthful ingredients, especially ingredients that store well. I am always looking for more ways to serve beans, lentils, and freshly ground whole wheat, corn and bean flours. My favorites are probably the homemade convenience foods, though. While I do love to cook from scratch with healthful ingredients, I also have other things I would like to do with my time (story of our lives, right?). I love shortcuts that work!

    I truly appreciate all the work you have put forth and thank God for the assistance that you have given my family during our journey (in the kitchen, schoolroom, and beyond). Thank you!!

    • Maggie

      Thanks Abbey, that’s exactly what I wanted to know. I feel the same way about healthy time-saving shortcuts. I’m glad my work has been helpful for you. That’s what I aim for, serving the Lord with the talents He’s given me. It’s always nice to be appreciated. 🙂

      • Jamie Palmer

        I agree with Abbey, and I also love the gfcf recipes! I was wondering though, did you change some of the recipes recently? I don’t know if I just didn’t look closely, but some of the muffin recipes I thought used just the Glad Flour and just now when I looked used the muffin mix. I loved it with the Glad flour so that I didn’t have to mix up another separate mix. (Maybe I used the recipe wrong?) Love the recipes, though! I keep coming back to get ideas! Thank you for all the hard work and posting the gfcf recipes! they have really helped me so much.

      • Maggie

        I’ll look at my recipes and see what’s up Jamie. I might not have all of them online in updated form yet. I’ll let you know.

  3. CharlieAnn

    Great to hear from you. I like your sight the way it is. Easy to use and easy to follow directions. Its been a great help. An the recipes are really good.

  4. Maggie

    Thanks for the feedback CharlieAnn, I aim to please.

  5. I am so super happy to OFE back up. You don’t know what a blessing your site is for those of us who really couldn’t afford to homeschool without OFE. It meets my son’s needs with structure for me. I have learned so much from reading all your tips and helpful advice. Thank you and God bless you!

  6. Thank you, thank you, thank you! I was so glad to see that the OFE site is back up. Now I can continue planning for next year.

    denise

  7. Robyn

    good to see you back. will you be posting regular updates here this summer?

    my old blog link (on your side bar) links to something not nice, was wondering if you could remove it?

    would love to hear from you sometime!

  8. Maggie

    Hey Robyn, I’m not sure I’ll be regular, but I will be here more than in times past. That is part of my summer plan. My kids have lots of things to keep them busy, so I’ll have more time to put in here, and I miss doing the website and blog stuff. I’ll see what I can do about fixing the link to your old blog. If i don’t get to it today, then I’ll work on it tomorrow. Do you have any blogs or webistes you’re working on now?

    -Hugs!

  9. Thank you for all the hard work you have put into your sites. I will admit I was a little frantic when I could not get OFE to load for me as I have only printed everything up to first grade and I don’t know how I would do it without your guidance.

  10. Maggie

    You’re Welcome Jennifer. I’m glad to be of help.

  11. Robyn

    I had to change email and lost your email address. . Would love to have your email address again if you want to send it to me.

    No, no blogs or websites anymore. Staying anonymous for now.

  12. Melissa

    Thank you so much for all of the gf/cf recipes and tips. We are newly gluten and dairy free, and I was beginning to panic about the prices of gf products. Your recipes will be very helpful in helping me stick to our budget!

  13. Maggie

    Happy to oblige Melissa. 🙂

  14. Just wanted to let you know that I really don’t post anymore to My Life and Ponderings. Instead I’m blogging at My Life Through Food (mylifethroughfood.blogspot.com)

  15. Margaret

    Better late than never right? When I last checked your blog you were taking a break – I’m so glad your back. I’ve always had you saved in my “favourites” and I thought – I need to make Maggie’s Curried Lentils this weekend. I came by just to get the recipe and got a wonderful surprise. Not only are you back – your site is better than ever!!

    I doubt you remember me but I’m the “other Maggie” in Canada – I just wanted to say how happy I am to see the new site.

    • Hi Margaret, I remember you. I’m glad you’re still enjoying my site. I’ve got lots of work to add to it still, but a little at a time will get me where I need to go. Good to hear from you. Hugs 🙂

  16. Sarah

    Hi,
    I check back in with you periodically since I loved it when you ran hillbilly hosuewife (this is the right person, right? haha). I love that you’re updating FA, I just love the simple format and cute pictures with the recipes. I was not happy with the changes made at the other website so it’s nice to “come home” to FA. 🙂 Blessings!

  17. Rachel Jones

    HI Miss Maggie! My name is Rachel and I have a 16 year old daughter in christian school now who is an honor student. My husband though is considering christian homeschooling for her. I love how your curriculum is! The site is very easy to navigate and I was wondering how to go about getting her set up for this,should my husband choose to home school her. Thank you Miss Maggie!

  18. Merrilee

    Maggie, I made your “snake bites” last night for my family, and to say they were a hit would be an understatement. My big boys licked the platter clean. Thank you for a wonderful recipe, and I will probably be using your homeschool stuff this year as well. For years I have used Sonlight, but due to my wonderful husband suffering a mild stroke in July and the downturn in the economy, things have been tough this year. Happily your website has taught me so much about frugal living, some of which I knew but had forgotten. Thank you for everything!

Leave a Reply

