I can’t think up good titles any more

Fred is home from the hospital and has been for a few days now. The day after he came home Kia’s  (rhymes with PIE-uh) mom Carla, went to the emergency room and they kept her for 3 days. She had strep throat and the sack her heart sits in got infected. Gross isn’t it? Also there’s been more snow and more expected in a few days.

So anyway, we kept Kia for those days and had a lovely time. It’s pleasant having Fred home for the most part, except I do want to smack him around a little bit now and then, only I don’t do that of course. I just think about it from time to time. and then I remind myself how worried I was while he was gone and so I feel better.

My oldest son, the Asperger’s one, has had wheat this week and even with his digestive aids he’s having a hard time and being mean to everyone and yelling a lot and fussing about things that seem inconsequential to me. He is having an episode I guess. I will have to make sure his grandparents don’t give him any wheat this weekend, or he won’t be tolerable. As it is, I am hiding from him so he can’t find me and fuss at me. He’s 17, has the social skills of an 11 year old and is terribly angry at me for reasons I don’t comprehend. Sigh. The meaner he is the more I fantasize about smaking around his father. How’s that for messed up reasoning.

Oh well. This winter has had more stress than normal for me and doesn’t seem like it’s going to lighten up any time soon. On I plod. Heavenly Father grant me the gift of grace. Amen.

21 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

21 responses to “I can’t think up good titles any more

  1. B

    I’m sorry you’re having such a rough time. Prayers are with you.

  2. Robyn

    Hi, Miss Maggie. I’m so sorry to hear you’re under such stress. I’m praying for you and I think of you often. I hope things improve soon.

    (((Hugs)))
    – Robyn

  3. cindy

    just remember 17 year olds with aspergers or not are cranky, insensitive and sometimes
    mean, I think it’s your not a little kid but not quite a adult. and HORMONES!!!!!
    hope your husband mends quickly.
    cindy

  4. What Robyn said. Think of you often whenever we make your recipes!

  5. Mickey Hipp

    It will get better. I too have had more stress this year than usual. 🙂 The snow was beautiful but it has had it effects on all of us. I can relate to your son. My son also has aper. and is 15….. but truly take time to breathe and focus on something lovely. The scriptures tells us to fill our hearts and mind with things that are lovely. My mom also said “and this to shall come to pass”.

  6. Good to see you back! I like the new look of the website.

    Prayers for your emotional struggles – those are the hardest to get through aren’t they!?

  7. Margaret

    I’m so glad you’re back Maggie. I’ve been keeping your family in my prayers while you were away.

    I’m sorry you’re stressed and will add a prayer you can find some peace and quiet (or at least a good pair of ear plugs ha ha). As for your son? Can you ship him back to his grandparents so they understand that he can’t have wheat (even when he says “honest – mom let’s me have pizza one in a while”).

    Grace and peace to you.

  8. lindsey

    i have been useing the points and “your plan” for my # of points and i can not find it now is it still around? please, please.

  9. Anonymous

    Are you serious about spousal abuse? I don’t like the way you talk about “smacking around” your husband. It’s disrespectful, even if you mean it in jest.

    • Helen

      Nonsense! It’s a humorous way of letting off steam, and this lady needs to let off steam all right!
      Over- serious attitudes and political ‘correctness’ steal so much of the individuality, joy, humour and quirkiness of life.
      Walk in this lady’s shoes for a while; admire her for the way she deals with her troubles; thank God you don’t have them;and if you must criticise something, look closer to home!

  10. Jennifer in MD

    Hi Maggie!
    It’s a pleasure to see you back 🙂 We all have impatient moments with our husbands – don’t worry about anonymous, only He can judge.
    Soon the weather will be warm and we’ll all get some sun and feel better.
    Hugs to you and yours!

  11. I am sorry to hear you’ve had a tough time:( Our Heavenly Father knows we all have those days. My prayers are with you.

    God Bless

  12. New Reader

    Thanks so much for all of the wonderful information. My husband and I have two girls – 7 and 13 years old. We have been homeschooling the youngest for about 2 years now and recently decided to do the same with our 13 year old. We have been looking for curriculum materials to get us started with our oldest and perhaps enhance what we’ve already been doing with our youngest. Thanks for such a balanced curriculum! It’s so great to find material that includes the foundational teaching of God, as well as structured academic learning. Please keep up this great work!

  13. Janice

    Maggie, I’m not sure your family even eats pork, but you’ve given me hundreds of recipes through the years (I think I started using HH about 2 years before you left it), and I thought of you after we ate this one. I included black beans, spiced basically like family favorite kidney beans (I din’t add the oil) to our burritos. This could also just be eaten on a plate ( or maybe in a salad?). It’s cheap,GFCF (I think!), storage friendly, and very, very good.
    dinner-recipes.suite101.com/…/
    easy_pork_burritos_with_cilantro_lime_rice

    I assume you could find/ make GF tortillas. I used brown rice. I did use fresh cilantro, but plan to try it with dry, shouldn’t make a difference.

  14. Robin

    Maggie,

    I haven’t written in so long! So much has happened. I have followed you since hillbilly! We just found out that our little 3 year old most likely has Aspergers! I have 3 Celiac kids also. Not sure if you remember me. I chatted with you off and on a couple of years ago. I would love to e-mail of possible. Would love to learn more about AS! Thanks Maggie!!

    Robin Reynolds

  15. Maggie in AL

    Oh, honey- He gives more grace. Just reading this, because life is happening here hot and heavy, too… but know I will be praying.

  16. Friend in GA

    Maggie, where are you? I miss you. I pray that all is well with you. I tried to email you but it was returned to me as undeliverable. Do you have a new email address?

    Maggie you are missed and you are loved. Come visit with us! 🙂

    {{{hugs}}}

  17. leann

    Hi! I’m hoping anyone can help me! I’ve just started homeschooling my 2nd grader after pulling him out of the public school quite abruptly. I really don’t want a box curriculum because I am worried my children will stay in that “box!” I want them to be able to progress as necessary and this curriculum seems to help them blossom. I am a little concerned with geography, math and science on here. Any suggestions, any suggestions on anything? I need so much help, I don’t even know what to ask! Thanks so much!!!! My email is l_nt@hotmail.com. Thanks again!

  18. Hey seems like you’re having a hard time.. may God bless you

  19. Amy

    Miss Maggie we miss you and I am praying all is well with you please post soon!
    Blessings,
    Amy

  20. Helen

    I miss you, Miss Maggie, hope that all is doing better for you. Please come back to us!

Leave a Reply

