GFCF & my Hair

My hair has always been one of my best features. Long, thick, curly, brown with red highlights. My sister-in-law says I have African American hair, and she’s not far off base. Well, when I got PCOS (or rather, when it “bloomed”), my hair started thinning. Everyone said to me “Well, you’re older now, your hair is bound to fall out more than it used to.” Hearing folks say that to me always made me feel resentful–with a vain, self-righteous anger, because how dare they lump me in with all the other women my age with thinning hair! My hair’s not supposed to thin because I don’t dye it. I don’t blow dry it. I only wash it a couple of times a week, because there’s so much of it, it doesn’t get dirty very fast. I’ve done all the right things to preserve my hair, but it was still falling out. I developed a receding hairline up near my temples and the top thinned significantly. Unless you’ve known me forever you wouldn’t notice the thinning, because there was still an abundance of hair, just not as much as there used to be.

Anyway, my point is that my hair was falling out and it was making me especially sad. Then something happened. I gave up gluten and casein. And now my hair is growing back. I’m serious. The hair I’ve lost over the past 8 to 10 years, is growing back. I have scores of little baby hairs growing back on the top of my head and in my receding hairline, which is now pro-ceding, not re-ceding. Praise the Lord.

If I had known my hair would grow back, I would have done this years ago.

Thank-you God, for my new Hair. Amen.

14 Comments

Filed under GFCF, Rants

14 responses to “GFCF & my Hair

  1. That’s GREAT news! 🙂

    I sometimes have bumpy ridges in my thumbnails, but when we eat super healthy GFCF/McDougall they disappear within one week, and my nails get super strong.

    Isn’t it amazing how a simple diet change can bring about so much good?

  2. Amen Robyn, I couldn’t agree more. 🙂

  3. I think I am going to have to investigate this GF thing. The evidence is getting too overwhelming to continue to ignore it.
    I am so glad you linked to my blog too, thanks.

  4. I can so sympathize! I have PCOS and you can notice the thinning of my hair.

    I’m not eating gluten free, but I am eating lower carb (read that as very little gluten…lol) and I’ve got new hair growing in, too.

    I’m glad the Lord is blessing your family with a diet that is helping you all.

  5. Hi-Ho Debbie-O, 😀 My pleasure.

    Hey Country Lady, that’s wonderful news about your hair. Like you said, I can so sympathize!

  6. That’s great! I always love reading about the difference a change in diet can make.

  7. So encouraging! I could have written this post, excpet my hair is strawberry blonde. And while it’s never been exceptionally thick, it used to be much thicker. I was recently (two months ago) diagnosed with gluten sensitivity, so I’ve been gf since then. Maybe there is hope yet…?

  8. I was recently diagnosed with PCOS. I don’t know much ab0ut it yet except that diet can help. I know what gluten is, but never heard of casein. What is it?

  9. Appreciated this post, Maggie. I am currently studying insulin resistance and the myriad of health issues attributed to it. We are another gluten/ casein free family. We eat so well and feel great. What a blessing!

  10. Yes, Sarah C. there is hope. Just give it time, I noticed that it didn’t happen overnight. Slowy and steady wins the race.

    Akhomeschoolfun, Casein is the protein in milk, like lactose is the sugar in milk, casein is the protein element. Casein and gluten are both hard for some people to digest, my boys are sensitive to both and when I eliminated these proteins from their diet, they both improved their behavior and concentration big time. Both guys are on the Autism spectrum, so this type of improvement is monumental.

    I didn’t think it would help my PCOS at all, but my cramps have gone from debilitating to only slightly annoying. I don’t know why they would be affected this way, but they are. I’m also finding weight loss a might easier. Probably because whole milk, cheese, milk chocolate and regular bread are no longer on our menus.

  11. Hi Plantain, nice to meet you. All I can say is ditto.

    🙂

  12. Sarah

    Hi, good for you on this great site. Couple of points I must make: Oats are **not** gluten free – that’s the view of the Codex http://www.coeliachelp.me.uk/codex.html Some coeliacs can tolerate pure oats but not everyone.
    I have a coeliac daughter with insulin resistance and I have hypthyroidism and PCOS and so we both relate to the hair falling out. My husband was so fed up of pulling what he termed “drowned mice” from the shower trap” 😦
    In eating a GF diet you are probably reducing the amount of carbs/sugar in your diet which in insulin resistance terms is exactly the right thing to do. We read lables very carefully and have found that many GF foods hide extra sugar so something to watch out for. Good luck to you.

  13. Yuyin Wang

    Hi Miss Maggie, I came to this blog through your Old Fashioned Education site. I am a homeschool mom, too, and your web site helps me tremendously. Thank you.
    I am very interested in this post. My hair used to be so thick that I had two braids. But after my first child 10 years ago, I started to experience gradual hair thinning. Right now I only have about 1/5 left…. I didn’t see doctor about this because I always thought this is the natural course of aging and child bearing. (I have 4 children now), and there are too many things in my daily life preventing me from worrying more about my hair. Recently two years my hair got so thin that I started to feel uneasy when I go out.
    When I read your post, I am very excited. And now I started to try this kind of diet. I have a question, though. Do you go very strict, or sometimes you still allow some intake of gluten/diary food?

  14. Sarah Mac

    I am 22 years old and was diagnosed with PCOS about 3 months ago, I don’t know much about it except what I have read. How much does this really help?

Leave a Reply

