Watch for shrinking packages

Every time food costs go up, food manufacturers reduce the size of their packages while charging we, the consumer, the same price. Pound sized packages drop to 14 or even 12 ounces and then advertise “Now! 3/4-Pound in Every Box” like they’ve done us a favor by giving us more, when in fact they’re giving us less. Our favorite sunflower seeds were $1.19 for 12 ounces, now they’re 99-Cents for 7 ounces. the Package tells me that now they’re only 99-Cents which seems like it costs less. Only they’re giving us 5-ounces less in the package, so the company is actually making a lot more, while pretending to be a friend of the consumer. Really they’re just being a friend to their own greedy interests. Since the sunflower seeds are no longer the good deal it used to be, now I’m buying them from the bulk bins at the Natural Foods Co-Op. They’re $2.59 a pound and never NEVER trick me with packaging.

America’s Shrinking Food Wraps–YahooNews–Article about this very topic.

15 Comments

Filed under Grocery Shopping, Low Cost Foods, Recession, Uncategorized

15 responses to “Watch for shrinking packages

  1. Katrina

    Hubby and I were talking about when this happens, you know the economy is hitting the pits.

    We buy hotdogs in bulk since they’re a cheap meat and freeze well. We only got 28 hotdogs and the package said 30 count. The price has also went up 30 cents so we’re paying more for less.

  2. tuimeltje

    Thanks! That’s a good thing to watch for, I’d not really thought of that before. Another reason to love bulk shopping.

  3. mumshomemadelove

    That’s awful! I hate being lied to like that.

  4. This is happening everywhere! Thanks for shedding light on it!

  5. Hi Maggie, I may be asking this question at the wrong place, but I need to know. In the sewing section, you said the xxlarge size of Candle On The Hill Patterns ran to size 22. Is this misses size or womens plus size. I would love to order some of her patterns, but assumed they wouldn’t fit. Also, did you have to do a lot of altering for them to fit. T

  6. Hi Maggie, I may be asking this question at the wrong place, but I need to know. In the sewing section, you said the xxlarge size of Candle On The Hill Patterns ran to size 22. Is this misses size or womens plus size. I would love to order some of her patterns, but assumed they wouldn’t fit. Also, did you have to do a lot of altering for them to fit. Thanks for the great site. I am just beginning to collect daily dresses to wear. Thanks again.

  7. Hi Betty, I’m not sure what size the patterns are. I would email the lady who owns Candle on the Hill and ask her. I know Krista, the lady who invented the patterns, sold it a while back and I’m not sure of the name of the new owner. I do know that the patterns I bought fit me fine. I had to adapt the shoulder to be a little bit more narrow, but I have to do that on every pattern, so it wasn’t a big deal. Sorry I couldn’t be more help.

  8. Deb

    Maggie, we heard about this on the news the other day and it just infuriated me! How dumb do they think we are?? They did this with Clorox bleach a few years ago and I noticed it right off. I’ve seen bottles that when you look at the height and width, they look the same, but when you turn them sideways you can see that they’re thinner. Deception and basic LYING comes to mind. Shame on them!

  9. Totally agree Deb. It’s outright lying and it is a sin. Someone will have to pay the price for their deceptive practices, if not in this world, then the next.

  10. We notice this a few months ago with olive oil. It used to be a full gallon but now is 3 liters. Even that price has now gone up the last time I checked. Now more things are less for more if you do the math for price per quantity. I’d rather keep the bigger sizes and just be honest and have a higher price if they must do it anyway. We also quit buying the small bags of sunflower seeds and use bulk bins.

  11. Renee

    We definitely noticed this ages ago when Dryer’s started their 1.75 quart packaging instead of the full half-gallon of ice cream. We never bought anything but the store brand anyway, so that made me feel better about our own purchases UNTIL the store brand followed suit! And recently I noticed that some of the Dryer’s containers are now only 1.5 quarts! Ridiculous! I, too, would rather just pay the price increase than have the manufacturers trying to trick us.

  12. Kroger’s keeps doing the get-less-charge-more trick with their yogurt!!

    The 99 Cents Only store chain and their bountiful fresh produce and bread is saving my grocery budget right now.

  13. Judi

    The one of these that got my goat was Fleishmann’s Olive Oil margarine. They added 25% water, so now it has 25% fewer calories. We switched to Olivio!

    Judi

  14. YES my husband and I realized this just last weekend! Our favorite ice cream, Dreyer’s, was on sale 2/$6, which is a pretty good deal and we don’t buy it unless it’s on sale. Well, when he brought it home I remarked on how small the containers were… it turns out they’ve shrunk them from the 2 quarts they were, to 1.5 quarts now! He hadn’t noticed at the time he bought them, but my husband wasn’t very happy about it. This is the time we’re living in though.

  15. Katie

    I did the math and the 99 cents for 7 ounces is still cheaper than the bulk price you are paying.

    Like some of the others mentioned, I’d MUCH rather they just raise the price of the item if they have to instead of shrinking the containers.

Leave a Reply

