Granny Etc.

First off, thank-you to everyone for your kind support–of Granny (who has a brain tumor), of our diet change (to gluten and casein-free), and of my sewing, recipes, sites and blogs in general. Y’all are a great group and continually bless me. I hope I can do the same in return.

Granny is doing better. She’s on mood stabilizers. They’ve sent her back home and she’s feeling better. The best part for her, is that she’s having her brain tumor at the same time as Mr. Kennedy, which is high status in her book. There are differences of course, Granny’s is operable and benign, and poses no immediate risk. But in Granny’s mind she and Teddy have the exact same tumor and she appreciates all of the support our Nation is giving her in her time of need.

Next, you may have noticed, but I am trying some new looks with my blog. I can’t decide if I like this or my old standby Black & White. I’d appreciate any input (pro & con) about the new look.

On the diet front I’ve been experimenting with baking bread and pizza. I don’t have any really good recipes or procedures to share yet, but hope to soon enough.

I found a really interesting blog that is revolutionizing my understanding of cooking with beans and lentils. The site is called Lentils & Rice.  Robyn, the owner, has this idea she calls Elastic Meals, Stretchy Beans.  Essentially she cooks up a big pot of beans and then takes the beans through a succession of meals throughout the week. I was especially delighted by her lists of things to do with each type of bean after cooking them. It makes me want to make similar lists for myself.

Robyn has some great tips on decluttering, and minimalism in general. I’ve found myself moved by her ideas, and am now incorporating some of her methods into my own.

11 Comments

Filed under Homemaking, Updates

11 responses to “Granny Etc.

  1. tuimeltje

    Thank you very much for that link. I am a big fan of beans because of the vegan, cheap, easy, and tasty protein they provide, but I often put off using them because the time it takes. Since my freezer space is very limited, cooking a big batch and freezing it in parts isn’t very practical.
    Stretching them sounds like a great way of making the most of them.

    I am happy to read your granny is doing better. I hope it’ll continue.

  2. Terrie

    I’m a little bias having seen your previous website HH. But if you’re wanting to get away from that look, then I have to say that I liked the one with the mother, two boys, and shopping cart. It seems to match the frugal abundance part. Plus, it’s a little fitting since you have two boys, and the cover page talks about them. Well, that’s just my opinion.

    God Bless!

    ….we’ll keep granny in our prayers.

  3. Jess

    Wow, great post!

  4. Lucy

    Thank you so much.

  5. Katrina

    I really like the new look! The colors are soft and nice, reminds me of the ivy green my mom’s kitchen is painted in :).

  6. Desl

    I like the black and white, because it is easier to read the site with. Both (color and b/w) are nice, and I kept going back and forth trying to figure out why one screen was more easy on my 50ish eyes! Now this is just me and both ARE nice. Thank you for all your work. Gods blessings to your family.

  7. Oregon Dad just agreed to my making beans a bigger part of our meals… he doesn’t like beans!!! Yay… Let’s see how it goes.

    I like the mom/shopping cart thing as well… gives your page more of a fifties look, classy and fun.

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  8. Jamie, congratulations on Oregon Dad’s agreement! For folks who don’t like beans, it takes time to get used to them, and a cooperative spirit on his part is such a blessing.

    I was cooking with beans this week and hope to blog on it later. Lentils & Rice’s Stretchy Beans have really inspired my own cooking. Also, since we can’t eat lots of things that we used to, focusing on low-cost foods that we can eat is helping us balance the food budget.

    Thanks for the feedback on the site design. Much appreciated. 🙂

  9. cbrunette

    The beans with the slice of bacon make me hungry…but I like the design anyway. 🙂

    ~Anna

  10. THanks Anna. They make me hungry too.

  11. I have to admit I really like your B&W theme, it just seems like “You”, but you have every right to find a “new” theme that fits your new blog!! When I first found your blog, I knew immediately it was Maggie from HBHW because of the simple, useful layout! But, I just enjoy reading your posts, so use the layout that YOU enjoy!! I’ll love reading your posts no matter the format! 😉

Leave a Reply

