Granny’s Brain Tumor

This post was with the one above, but I decided to give Granny her own spot for prayers.

Last update is that my Granny has a brain tumor. I’m still sort of reeling over the idea of a brain tumor, much less the reality of it. Granny’s behavior has changed somewhat over the past year or 2. She’s been meaner than normal. She’s always had a bratty streak, but it’s progressed to actual meanness, which is sort of sad to see in a lady I love so dearly. Anyway, the doctors who found it do not think it is affecting her behavior enough to remove it, even though it is operable in their opinions. Granny has been very polite and kind, even charming to the doctors and hasn’t had one of her mean episodes on them yet, so they don’t think it’s that big a deal. It will take a while for the doctors to realize how big a deal it is and how especially mean she can be. So until then, they’re sending her home. I expect she’ll be back at the hospital before too long, with another episode of overt cruelty under her belt. My family’s ability to communicate with doctors about their needs is clumsy at best. It’s part of the hillbilly heritage. I’m not in a position to overrule other family members, so I will just sit and pray and watch and see how things go. I would like to storm in and fix things and holler and scream until I get my way, but so many things block my path. Additionally I have prayed and do not feel that I’m being called to force my opinions on the rest of family. Sigh. I love my family so much, all of them. And I pray that God’s will be done, not mine. God is big enough to change the doctor’s minds, so I don’t have to be. I can’t control the situation, but I can trust God to control it and to work His miracles within it. Meanwhile, I pray and pray and pray, and focus on what I can control instead of what I can’t.

God, Grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change

The Courage to change the things I can,

And the Wisdom to know the difference. Amen.

 

12 Comments

Filed under Family, Health

12 responses to “Granny’s Brain Tumor

  1. I am praying and will be praying that your Granny be healed and that your family come together stronger than ever during this time.
    God’s blessings. (((hug)))

  2. Thanks Jess. That’s my prayer too.

  3. BarbC

    Sorry to hear about your grandmother.

    I do have a suggestion. When someone goes to the doctor with your granny, have them bring documentation about what exactly she is doing that is mean. If you could have the family keep a notebook where they wrote what happened and how granny acted it might help the doctors “see”what she is being like. Don’t put reactions down, or go into long descriptions, just the facts and the consequences for the family. Keep it simple, but capture the events.

    Barb C.

  4. Kat

    Praying for your grandma!

  5. We will be praying for your granny.

    Much love,
    Maggie

  6. Thank-you Maggie. Prayers availeth much.

    Love you too. 🙂 M

  7. Thank-you Kat.

    Great idea Barb C. I’ll mention it to the family.

  8. KRISTINA

    you are in my thoughts and prayers maggie.

    I HAVE BEEN WHERE YOU ARE NOW, BUT WITH MY DAD.

    my dad went from sweet and somewhat grumpy, to a completely different person. he was nice and polite to the doctors too but as soon as they were out the room he’d let fly to my mum in a low voice.
    when the doctors came back she was crying and the dr’s thought she was upset due to the news.

    all i can say is to document. times and what was said to who. show the doctors. dont be afraid to tell them. they do need to know as it is/ could be fixed to some certain extent.
    mum borrowed my small dictophone i used for lectures.
    after operation he went back to normal.

  9. Prayers are on the wing Maggie….

    Peaceful and Healing Week, Wendy

  10. Leta

    Praying for peace for you, your family, and especially your Granny.

  11. We are praying for your Grandma and your family.

    Remember the Footprints Poem… it is during these times that the Lord is carrying us.

    Footprints in the Sand
    One night I dreamed I was walking along the beach with the Lord.
    Many scenes from my life flashed across the sky.
    In each scene I noticed footprints in the sand.
    Sometimes there were two sets of footprints,
    other times there were one set of footprints.
    This bothered me because I noticed
    that during the low periods of my life,
    when I was suffering from
    anguish, sorrow or defeat,
    I could see only one set of footprints.
    So I said to the Lord,
    “You promised me Lord,
    that if I followed you,
    you would walk with me always.
    But I have noticed that during
    the most trying periods of my life
    there have only been one
    set of footprints in the sand.
    Why, when I needed you most,
    you have not been there for me?”
    The Lord replied,
    “The times when you have seen only one set of footprints in the sand, is when I carried you.”
    Mary Stevenson

  12. Thank-you Looks Good In Polka Dots :). That’s a lovely poem and I am surprised each time I read it. I always think I’m in it alone, and then Surprise! I’m not. It’s such a releif to lay my burdens on the Lord. Blessings, and thanks again 🙂

Leave a Reply

