Breakthrough

Hello, My name is Maggie and I have nutritional issues that are driving me bonkers. I don’t know exactly what my nutritional issues are so I am groping around in the dark trying to find solutions. My doctors and health care professionals are not especially aggressive about treating me. As a matter of fact, they are complacent. That doesn’t mean I have to be. I know something is wrong. I thought it was just PCOS and carb-sensitivity. Now I’m not so sure.

So, as part of my fumbling and lurching from “perfect diet” to the next I have decided to try gluten-free. I have resisted this for 5 years. I am now so frustrated however that I am willing to try almost anything for relief.

I came to this through a couple of channels. First, a commenter on my blog suggested I should look into it. It made me mad because a score of readers have suggested this to me over time and the idea of living without wheat made me angry and sort of scared, so I said to myself “No Way! Not me!” I thought gluten-free was a new fad and that I was not about to jump on every fad just because it was passing my door.

Only as luck would have it, I happened upon this book about the connection between ADHD and Austism and gluten (wheat protein) sensitivity and casein (milk protein) sensitivty. So I read the book and felt ill. My oldest son has Autism–Aspergers Syndrome specifically. My youngest has ADHD and is on meds. Sigh. Then I looked up correlations between PCOS and Gluten Sensitivity and discovered there is a link.

So I did some testing on myself, 3 days with no gluten, then I had a low-carb tortilla. 5 Carbs, so if I experience discomfort I know it’s not from too many carbs. And guess what, about an hour after eating the tortilla I was uncomfortable, lots of tummy troubles and I thought huh! So then the next day I tried some M’N’M’s. Lots of carbs. No discomfort what-so-ever. How can that be? Could I be sensitive to gluten? Is this in addition to PCOS or is the gluten sensitivity what is causing my PCOS? I have no idea.

I will ask my doctor to test for gluten sensitivity when I see her next, well actually my nurse practitioner. And if she can’t do that then I will find someone else who can. Meanwhile, I will avoid gluten.

Also chatted with my guys about the stuff I found out and told them that next week, after payday, we would, as a family, do 2 weeks gluten and casein free. My oldest, the one with Autism, was unusually cooperative in his spirit. I found that providential. God provides for His children. After explaining to eldest son why and how we would do it, he agreed to give it a try. He lives off of wheat and cheese, so it will be challenging to say the least, but I intend to pray my way through it and try it anyway.

Physicians live by the oath “Do No Harm.” I figure a GFCF (gluten free casein free) diet can’t hurt any of us, maybe it will help us. We’ll know more in 2 weeks.

So from now to then I’m continuing my lowcarb regimen. And on Friday or Saturday I’m going shopping. And on Sunday (or maybe Saturday) we’re going gluten free to see what happens. And if things get better for all of us, great. And if they don’t, well then I’ll lurch on to the next idea that I stumble over in the dark.

So after thinking all of this through I wondered to myself, well what if the boy’s doctor or my doctor say none of us are gluten or casein sensitive and what if they think I’m a crack-pot? I hate it when our doctor’s think I’m a looney tune. So I chatted with my Mom about this and she reminded me that I do not have to think for the Doctors and I do not have to live with the doctors. I have to live with myself and with my boys. And it doesn’t matter if the Doctors agree with me or not. If I have success, then that is that. Stick with it. And if nothing changes, well then–nothing ventured, nothing gained.

This is revolutionary thought for me. I feel like I have multiple-personalities when it comes to dietary needs. I hop from one idea to anther and that must mean I’m crazy right? No. It doesn’t mean that at all. It means I’m a reasonably intelligent woman who has not yet found the right nutritional balance. I sense something is wrong and I want to correct it. This is not crazy behavior, this is sane behavior. I try something, it doesn’t work, so I try something else.  It’s not  as I feared, evidence of being flaky or nuts. Instead this behavior on my part is direct evidence of my desire to be well.

So yes, I have nutritional schitzophrenia. That’s okay. I will have until I am able to determine exactly what is wrong with me and how to fix it.

I have high hopes for gluten-free. If this is IT then I can finally rest and go ahead and start eating right. I want to eat right. I have such an incredibly strong desire to eat right, to nourish and love my body. I have tried every method of eating right I can, and some have made me feel better than others. And I will keep trying until I figure out what it is that is making me sick. Like when I had hepatitis and though I was crazy with anorexia. Like when I got PCOS and thought I was crazy with obesity. Both times I later found it was a disease causing my symptoms. Well this time I don’t think I’m crazy. I think there is a dis-ease. A problem causing my symptoms and slowly but surely I will continue until I discover what it is.

If anyone has an extra moment and feels moved by the Spirit, I could use a few extra prayers about this, for myself and the kids.

 

44 Comments

Filed under Health, Low-Carb, PCOS

44 responses to “Breakthrough

  1. I don’t think you are crazy at all. You are searching for answers. Doing the same thing and expecting different results is crazy.

    And I agree with your mom. You have to decide what is best for you and your family. Gluten free is not harmful to you and will not compromise your health, so even if you find minimal help there, stick with it even if medical folks don’t agree.

    One of our favorite new grains is quinoa. I’ve seen it as pasta for gluten-free diets so it would work for you all I’m sure. I use it like I would rice, but it has more flavor. And it’s not expensive…a HUGE plus!

    Kudos to you for continuing your search for the best for your family.

  2. Me

    Ohhhh, sweet woman! Good luck! This is something (GFCF) that I HATE the idea (apparently) as much as you do! So many reasons NOT to do it. Anyway,thoughts and prayers are with you. I hope this IS *it*.

  3. Thanks Me. 🙂 A trillion reasons NOT to do it and only a handful of reasons to give it a try. Still, I keep telling myself it can’t hurt us and at least I’ll learn something along the way. Thanks for your prayers— 🙂 Maggie

  4. Hi Noelle, I’ve got quinoa on my list for my weekend shopping trip. I’m vising the local Food Co-Op cause they’re cheapest on most things. I didn’t know it was one of the economical choices. As a matter of fact I don’t know how much a lot of the stuff I’ll be buying is supposed to cost. I have lots of a rice and a K-Tech Grain Mill, so I’m going to grind my own rice flour. Some white and some brown. I’ll have to buy Tapioca flour and Potato Starch. I have Amaranth on my list too, but have never cooked with it before. I went to the library yesterday and am reading everything I can on it. I don’t want to fail through lack of knowledge. Thanks for the support. I can’t even say how much I need it. This is truly one of the hardest things I’ve done. That’s one of the reasons I’ve resisted doing it for so long.

  5. Mamalade

    Hey Maggie
    I would also like to recommend a book to you called “Healing children Naturally” by Michael Savage” he has a radio show, but was a botinist for many years and has many other books.

  6. I suggested this last week and I’m glad to see you’ve done some research. Remember that doctors don’t know everything. As in any profession there are individuals who choose to continue education and those who stick with what they are told and nothing more. You’re mom is 100% right, if YOU feel better then who are they to judge?

    When people go “low carb” and feel better/lose weight, it isn’t usually anything to do with being low carb its to do with not eating their ‘trigger foods’ kwim? Things that upset my system is lime, carbonated drinks, some yeast products. I have friends who are gluten sensitive, one who is very intolerant to gluten (and lots of other things).

    I say that you are going to lose nothing by trying this

    Hugs

  7. Me

    http://find.myrecipes.com/recipes/recipefinder.dyn?action=displayRecipe&recipe_id=1160577

    Someone mentioned Quinoa. This is my FAVORITE recipe with it. Also very cheap when growing your own produce.

  8. Terrie

    Hey Maggie,

    Do you still have the website about PCOS and gluten? This has been mention before to me, too. I also for many reasons have put it off.

    Well, calm down. Take a deep breath. Pray! Pray! Pray!

    You and yours are in our prayers.

    God Bless!

  9. Kathy Jones

    Dear Miss Maggie, you are not crazy, you are just trying to do the very best for your family and yourself. With a world of conflicting nutritional information out there, and a limited grocery budget to try and buy healthy food, it is a dilemma for many of us. We are praying for you, and please keep posting and let us know how the gluten-free diet works. You are a help and inspiration to us.

  10. lookingforlifeshumor

    GFCF unfortunately did nothing for us (my son is Autistic) however I enjoyed learning how to bake, cook, etc without Gluten. I know, I am one of the crazy ones! I highly recommend you check out the Gluten Free Girl blog (link on my blogroll). She has been Gluten free for about 3 years, married a chef, and has published a book, etc. The blog is beautifully written, lovely pictures, and very good recipes using in season ingredients. Totally delicious blog!

  11. LaVonne

    I wonder if this is the correct avenue for me. While looking up info on gluten free I found information on Hashimoto’s disease for which I have nearly every symptom.A gluten free diet is also recommended for this disease as well. I have tried low carb/no carb with some success but i can’t do artificial sweetners and the very low calorie diet is so hard cause your hungry all Also it may be of help to my son.

  12. We will be praying for your success with these diet changes! They aren’t easy, but may be exactly what your health needs. I too had PCOS among many other issues. Two of my children are GFCF… its a crazy world, but it can be conquered. For the pasta loving kids, try out Tinkyada PastaJoy. It’s made with brown rice and doesn’t get mushy… my kids love it. With some creative shopping you can find many ready to use foods, in our house we do A LOT of rice with veggies and fish or chicken. We also eat a ton of eggs. (I buy them in bulk at Costco.) Rice Dream Milk is now labeled GLUTEN FREE which is awesome… its the kids’ favorite (only the original flavor has the label). Thanks for finding my blog so I could find yours! I am very exciting to start using your tips! Our family of 7 spends WAY too much on groceries every month. Good Luck and Good Health!

    Jamie

  13. Hi Jamie, 🙂 Thanks for coming to visit. 🙂

    How did you have so many babies with PCOS? I’ve had our 2, then we have 2 from Fred’s first marriage and I’ve had 3 miscarriages over the years. Right now I’m just 38 and we would both love to have more kids, but it doesn’t seem to be happening, at least not for the past eleven years (the age of our youngest).

    Thanks for the recommendation for Pasta, I was looking for reviews of GF pasta but hadn’t found any yet. We eat a lot of pasta, so I figure I’ll be serving it at least 2 times during our 2 weeks of GFCF, and maybe more. It costs a lot of money to test out products ourselves, so I’m interested in reading other’s reviews to save myself some trouble.

    I make a rice and lentil dish, an Italian flavored one and a Mexican flavored one, that I’m planning on during our experiemental weeks. Still thinking on other ideas though. I’m easy to feed, my youngest is easy to feed. My oldest, with his Asperger’s Syndrome has lots of finicky tastes and I’m not sure how it will go for him. I wish he ate eggs, if he did, I’d prepare them for him every day, just to make sure he got enough protein.

    He did try fried rice from Chinese Take-Out once, and recently asked me to try to make it at home, so I will give it a try. I’m thinking mixed veggies (frozen) Bragg’s Liquid Aminos, cooked rice, and not too much egg, just enough to get him started on it again. He ate eggs up until he was 3 and then gave them up completely. Now he’s 15 and I’m hoping all these changes will help the finicky appetite too.

    Thank you soooooo much for the encouragment. Really enjoying your blog 🙂

  14. Thank you Kathy 🙂 Will keep everyone informed of our progress.

  15. I hope this is it for you – or if not, the search leads you to what IS it!

    We are not gluten-sensitive (that I know of! hmmm) but for some reason yesterday I was looking at Taste of Home’s website’s new gluten-free forum: http://community.tasteofhome.com/forums/202884.aspx

    Also, there is a really neat blog with recipes. Yum! http://www.gingerlemongirl.blogspot.com/

    I always love the sound of the brownie recipes that use bean puree instead of flour. I want to try this anyway for better nutrition!

    Sincerely
    Natalia
    (new commenter but have been an occasional reader for a while!)

  16. Thank you Natalia, great links. 🙂

  17. Cindy

    Hi Maggie,

    I’ve been dancing around this issue for a while,too. I’m 38 and have PCOS. I’ve been unable to lose weight since I was in my early 20’s. I don’t gain weight rapidly, but it does add up.
    We have 2 adopted sons. Our 14 yr old is ADHD and our 6 yr old is lactose and carbohydrate intolerant. We have him on a low carb and lacto free diet, but he still has problems.

    So, I will be very interested to see how this works out for you. Thank you for being willing to be so open, so that others can follow in your path.

    Many blessings,
    Cindy

  18. My pleasure Cindy. I honestly didn’t realize there were other folks thinking about it too. It’s funny, but I tend to think I’m the only person who struggles with these things, and then when I find out I’m not it’s incredibly reassuring. Will share more as it happens. I’m planning the best I can this week and next week, we’ll see what we can do.

  19. Me

    Someone mentioned bean brownies. We make Choc. Chip cookies using pinto bean flour. Delicious!! You substitute equal amounts bean flour for white flour in your favorite recipe.

  20. Ann

    Hi, Maggie. My name is Ann and I’ve been a reader and a big fan for a long time now (way back to HBHW) but never commented. As a strange coincidence, I just this weekend read a book about gluten sensitivity called “The Gluten Connection” by Shari Lieberman. It’s good… lots of info including a 14 day diet plan, references for testing, all kinds of good info.

    My grandmother was diagnosed as having celiac disease very late in life so there is a family connection for me. I actually requested the blood test at one point several years ago but it came back “negative, possibly borderline”. I resisted the diet — it’s tough — altho I’ve done the low carb thing and usually feel better for a while (looking back, til I started adding back in foods w/ gluten). This book explains how the blood tests aren’t accurate and the newer testing that can be done (stool tests) that are better.

    I’d love to talk to you more about this. I have had trouble w/ GERD for years and years (also now shown to be linked to GS) and have suffered from unexplained muscle aches and fatigue and all kinds of weird intestional type issues. I’m about 30 lbs overweight and struggle to lose it and keep it off.

    I’ll be praying for you, Maggie.

  21. jdm

    Hoping the gluten-free diet will work for you and yours–going gluten-free is not “crazy”! Here’s to hoping you feel better soon, and will have more vitality and energy! Best wishes to you! 🙂

  22. Hi Maggie!

    You are not crazy. I switched to a gluten free diet nearly a year ago because of many reasons, one being I thought it would help with my constant tummy problems. It has helped tremendously. I can also say that I used to have migraines very very often, at least 2-3 times a week. It look about 8 months on the gluten free diet, but now, I only have about 2 migraines a month around that “time.” TO me, not having constant headaches is ALONE worth being on the diet!

    Also, when you are gluten free, you can no longer rely on many convenience foods. You will have to cook and make many things from scratch! It’s almost like learning to cook and bake all over again! But I believe my husband and I are much healthier because of it.

    I have not been tested for gluten sensitivity or celiac disease because you need to be actively eating wheat to be properly diagnosed in a doctor’s office. Yet, I know my body tells me that I feel better NOT eating wheat, so I’ve not purposely eaten anything with with wheat since last August (okay, I did break down and eat a donut hole last month… I couldn’t help myself. haha.. but I paid for it later!)

    And since I have been wheat free/ gluten free I’ve noticed that if I eat anything accidentally with wheat, I get a strange tickling feeling at the back of my throat, and several times my tongue has swollen. Which leads me to believe that I may actually have a wheat sensitivity/allergy possibly along with gluten sensitivity.

    At any rate, cooking and baking gluten free can be tough at first. If you need any help, please do not hesitate to email me! I hope this is the answer to helping your body becoming well! I know being gluten free has helped me tremendously! It can also be tough to be gluten free frugally, so it’s something that I work on daily, as we live on a tight budget as well!

    I look forward to seeing how the diet works for you! I’ve been a long time fan, of your old site, and now of your new blog!

    And as your mom said, Remember you don’t have to live with the doctor’s!! 😉

    Sincerely,
    Carrie @ http://www.gingerlemongirl.com

  23. Dania

    Hi there,
    First time on your site/blog – just wanted to say that I’ve been dancing around the GFCF thing for a while too (feeling very guilty as my 8 yo son has Asperger’s and I’ve read much about how this diet ‘may’ help). Anyway, I’ve been inspired and motivated by what I’ve read from you today….I’m calling my son’s doctor (even though I too think he’ll leave our appt thinking ‘there goes that crazy mom again) and I will get him tested and give this diet a shot. You will be in our prayers – please let us know how it goes for you.
    Oh, BTW we just began homeschooling this year and I LOVE your homeschooling info – such a blessing to this mom who is flying by the seat of her pants at this time! Bless you sweet lady!

  24. Barb

    Dear Maggie,
    My 11 year old has type 1 diabetes. Each year we have to do a “the Big Bloodwork” in which she is tested for all sort of things. In particular, celiac, hypothyroidism and Addison’s disease (a rare disease of the adrenal glands). All of these diseases are linked to type 1. They are all auto immune dissorders. In order for you to find out if you have celiac you must continue to eat foods with gluten and have your blood drawn. The other key test is a small intestines biopsy . If you just stop eating gluten foods your gut will feel better but you will not have an official diagnosis. Symtoms for adults are vague tiredness, breathlessness (Due to anemia) weight loss, diarrhea, vomiting and abdominal pain and swelling in the legs. Be proactive, if your dr. is not helping you, get another one. You pay (dearly) for his/her services. Take care. Like your new webpage/blog.

  25. Remember to clean your mill really well before using so there aren’t any traces of gluten from previous uses. Are your seasonings also gluten free? After reading labels to look for soy it seems that gluten is the next item in many ‘wet’ seasonings.

  26. christina

    i feel your pain. my mom was told in the 1980’s she had celiac disease and to avoid gluten. she ignored her doctor and thought he was a crack-pot. needless to say her health only digressed and continues yet she still eats gluten. she has dpression, fibromialgia, kidney/urinary problems, dental problems, bone problems, and other stuff i just cant remember. my sister and nephew were just diagnosed with it in recent years. at first my sister’s doctor did the blood test which apprently is inaccurate. it said she didnt have celiac. then she paid to have the fecal test done, which confirmed she has celiac. and she is allergic to milk. so she is GFCF. now that said, my mom,sister,and nephew all have this problem i should be tested right? well, im putting it off til i have my baby this june. i simply cant imagine a world without krispy kreme donuts and toast and cereal and moist bread and muffins. im actually scared to get tested bc i know that the odds are agianst me. and i havent yet asked my doctor about it. they often think that celiac is some obsure disease that no one has. but i think the figures are coming out that like one in 200 have it. dont quote me on that though. i will certainly say a prayer for you and your family. it is a tough thing to do to radically change your diet. trust me, i know after seeing my sister do it. who knows, i may come back here after im tested and ask for prayers from you on this very subject.

  27. Carole

    I have Celiac Disease and I know that if when you are being tested if you are gluten free you will show up negative. The test only works correctly if you are eating gluten. When you are gluten free you will test negative I would put off going gluten free until after the test. There are 2 tests one is a blood test which is not quite as accurate and a biopsy that is part of an endoscopy. I hope I made sense as it is hard to explain about the need to be eating gluten when you are tested.

  28. Sheree

    Miss Maggie,
    didn’t you say that you do extremely well on the Atkins diet? Isn’t it mostly gluten/dairy free, or really close? You could be on to something with this dietary change, and I can’t wait to hear how it goes!

  29. Joanna

    The son of some very dear friends of ours has Autism, along with some food allergies. His mom has been very careful with his diet for a while and she can tell the difference in his Autism symptoms when there are days his diet is not what it usually is. Good luck in your search for what works for you and your family.

    On another note, I was (and still am) a big fan of your previous hillbilly housewife site. I thought you were off the web now but am so happy to find your new site here!

  30. Pam

    I was gluten free for a couple of years and my tummy issues went away. I’m now back on gluten, and have found that I can enjoy it and as long as I don’t get too much I’m fine. Funny how we all need to find what exactly our bodies need individually. Hope you figure it out soon.

    Blessings!

  31. Leta

    I said a prayer for you and your boys. I hope that, if this doesn’t work, you figure out something that does in pretty short order.

    Please, don’t put too much trust in M.D.s. Most are very poor on nutrition- I have more nutrition hours than an M.D., and I only have a bachelor’s degree!

    Here is a gluten free recipe that we practically live on. We call it “Super Scramble”. It is very quick and easy to make, and very filling.

    1 tb butter
    1 clove garlic
    1 small diced onion
    1 tomato, diced
    1 head broccoli, trimmed and cut into bite size pieces
    1 package tofu, diced
    1-2 eggs, beaten (optional)
    Sausage (optional)
    Sautee together, long enough for everything to heat through.
    Finish with Bragg’s Liquid Aminos to taste.

  32. It wont hurt to try gluten free. I have beed trying to eat this way for 6 months now. THere is some good info online and recipies too. Just be careful some flours can be pricey. I just bought my first gluten free cookbook. It has been a lifesaver. The foods are tastey, easy and not expensive. The title is The Gluten-Free Kitchen by Roben Ryberg. The recipes do use milk so if you are trying to avoid dairy it might not work.

  33. Jess

    I just wanted to put out there another suggestion for those of you with PCOS. Try a Low Glycemic Index (GI) diet. I have several friend with PCOS that use this and it has helped them a ton. The book I am currently reading on it is “The Low GI Diet Revolution” by Dr. Jennie Brand-Miller, Kaye Foster-Powell and Joanna McMillan-Price.

  34. After reading your post, I wanted to suggest a blood-allergy test. Last summer my husband had it done on a whim, and we found out a LOT of foods he is allergic to – no anaphalactic shock allergic, but acid-reflux, diarrhea, stomach cramping – type reactions. We cut all the foods out that he was allergic to, and his IBS and reflux disappeared in less than 24 hours (the increase in food costs have replaced the cost of the prescriptions he was taking to combat the reactions). I was a complete skeptic when he told me, but I could not refute the results. The biggest offenders for him are casein, eggs, sunflower, pinto beans, yeast. And, I found your blog recently and love it. I loved Hillbilly Housewife, too. Thanks!

  35. Kerri

    Hi Maggie,

    I loved reading your post. I understand about feeling “nutritionally schizophrenic”! I was glad to read about how you feel it is sane behavior – so do I. We try something, it doesn’t work, we try another.

    I wrote last week that I was seeing a holistic pain specialist and that he was going to put me on a new diet to help treat my fibromyalgia. I went this week and was not able to learn about frugal ideas like I’d hoped for lower carb eating. It turns out that he wants me on a low-glycemic plan (similar to south beach) and to try to eat grass fed meats, free range eggs, limited processed foods, and magnesium rich foods. I guess I will discover through trial, error, how to make this as low cost as I can.

    I am curious about gluten free, though, as I am completely uneducated on the subject. I will have to check out that book you read to see if there is any connection, should simply following my new plan not help enough.

    I wish you all the best with finding your way through the dark and windy diet tunnel. I have all the faith that you will find your way. Take care!

    Kerri

  36. autismama

    Hi Miss Maggie,
    I also have PCOS, and a 4-year-old son with autism. I work with autistic children doing ABA therapy in their homes, and many of my clients have seen a DRAMATIC improvement in their children’s behaviors and autistic symptoms while on the GFCF (gluten-free/casein-free) diet. I have seen it work wonders! Unfortunately, it didn’t do a thing for my little guy.
    If you like, I would be happy to forward you a wonderful chocolate chip cookie recipe, a couple homemade bread recipes, and also a little ‘cheat-sheet’ that I made for myself to use while shopping. It’s important to look VERY carefully at food labels, as gluten comes in many forms and is often hidden in items such as boullion cubes and taco mix, etc. I’ve even seen it in cans of peaches, for goodness’ sake! There are so many ‘scientific-sounding’ words for ingredients that contain gluten, so it’s hard to remember all of then while you’re shopping. And you may find that you and/or your family will react strongly to even the tiniest molecule of gluten once you get started! In addition, there are enzymes that you can take just in case you accidently eat something with gluten in it, to help keep your tummy from turning sour…I’d be happy to help you research that if needed.
    If I can be of any help in your gluten-free journey, please let me know! You and your family will be in my prayers!

  37. May I recommend a wonderful website where you can find a lot of gluten-free recipes and advice. It’s http://www.cookingtf.com

    Blessings,
    Michelle

  38. Thank-you Autismama. If you send the information to my old email address–hillbillyhousewife@msn.com–I will keep a special eye out for it. I can’t thak you enough for your offer to help. It is overwhelming, that’s for sure.

  39. Hi Maggie. Thanks for this great blog. My first time here but have bookmarked and will return for sure. My wife has a gluten intolerance so we are always on the lookout for new sources of info and people to chat to. Our doctor just doesn’t want to know about Jackie’s condition and it’s as if because their is no pill for it, then he has no idea what to do.

    We, that’s us and our 2 young boys have been eating the gluten free diet for 4 yours now and Jackie is much better. The boys and I are not gluten intolerant but as you talked about earlier, it can’t hurt – and it hasn’t. I have a constant weight battle and it has helped that. I still have my wheat bread though and think if I cut that out, it may be a good thing also.

    Thanks again for taking the time to maintain this blog. I will be back again.

    Regards, Ross.

  40. Hi Ross, nice to meet you. I struggle with weight too, and am hoping this will help. My main desire though, is to see an improvment in the boy’s behavior and coping processes. Thanks for sharing. Glad to hear your wife is being helped so much by GF. It gives me hope. 🙂

  41. You and I sit in similar boats in the nutritional health arena.

    I know the shoes that you walk in and I wish you well.

    If you happen onto a reliable source of certified GF oats, please message me.
    ~Heidi

  42. Kathy

    I just wanted to tell you that I’m going through this same journey! I had horrible female troubles and two miscarriages. I found a doctor that tested me for gluten allergies and lo and behold, I had it. I removed it from my diet and I now have a lovely little 5 month old boy (this was after being told I needed a hysterectomy!)

    My oldest son was recently diagnosed with ADHD and on the Autism Spectrum. I read the same Kid Friendly Gluten Free/Casein Free recipe book and decided to take out dairy. It’s taken a few weeks, but the behavioral and attention issues have significantly decreased! When I removed gluten from my diet, I didn’t remove it from my families diet because it was too expensive. My middle son has asthma and since we’ve gone dairy free, it has all but disappeared as well. Coincidence? I don’t know, but I’m going to continue on this diet for them.

    Our diet now is still cheaper than the Ritalin, Pulmacort and Albuterol drug copays! I was spending about $100/month on drugs. Now we are healthier, feel better and the household has become a place of peace.

    I hope it works out well for you 🙂

  43. In our practice we’ve found gluten sensitivity to be the most likely cause of the symptoms you and your son have. A very good compilation of the research was done by Dr. Thomas O’Bryan and can be found at http://www.metagenics.com/webinars and click on Dr. Thomas O’Bryan’s June 10th 2008 webinar. Also if you pubmed search celiac disease, you can look thru the research on your own as well; over 14,000 research articles with clear implications of gluten sensitivity to autoimmune problems and other medical conditions. Please let me know if you need more information,
    Ralph Havens PT OCS IMTC
    http://www.missionhillspt.com
    ralph@missionhillspt.com

  44. Hi Kathy. I put the whole family on the diet. Fred eats things away from home, but he doesn’t bring stuff home. At home we all eat the same thing. For us it’s easier than having one person on one diet and another on something else. I’m just doing my best to figure out ways to keep it affordable.

Leave a Reply

