Jumper Pics

Here are the 2 jumpers I’ve finished this week. I plan to make a few more because they sew up pretty quick, they’re comfortable, cool and look better on me than a lot of other shapes I’ve tried. I’m happy to report that I made button holes for both jumpers and they turned out pretty good, as close to professional as I’ve ever come.

They both have gathered waists instead of pleated because they are intended to be casual and pleats are more formal than gathers. Also, I like gathers better than pleats, although I’ve pleated jumpers before and it’s not that hard to do. I thought of making a tie at the waist to better define it, but decided I liked it the way it was just fine. When I make other jumpers I’ll share them too, but it may be a few weeks yet.

Many thanks for all the encouragement with sewing. I find myself enjoying it a wee bit more when I get to play show and tell on my blog. 🙂

Tulip Print Jumper  Green Jumper

 

18 Comments

Filed under Headcovering & Modesty, Sewing

18 responses to “Jumper Pics

  1. Suzie

    Looks great!!! Keep Up the good work. I have really enjoyed your all of your posts recently.

  2. Aww shucks, thank-you ladies. Y’all make me feel good 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Lisa

    I love your jumpers Maggie! The little floral pattern is so cute and feminine!

  4. Thank-you Lisa. 🙂 It’s my favorite too. I lined the whole thing, bodice and skirt, so that I won’t have to wear a slip with it. It’s sooo comfortable and very cool too, for the hot summers we have in my neck of the woods.

  5. k

    Those jumpers look very, very nice! I also want to try lining the skirt completely when I use cotton broadcloths or calicos…I also feel like it would make it a little more durable?
    I’m straining the chest buttonholes on most of my summer jumpers at the moment so I need to lose some weight quick or get going and make a couple of new ones for the season. That green jumper is so pretty!

  6. Beautiful Jumpers!

    May I ask what pattern you used. I am looking for a new jumper pattern that has a waist like that rather than the empire waistline which does not look good on me at all.

  7. cbrunette

    They are both very flattering, in color and fit, though I think the small floral pattern is the most slimming. Maybe it was the camera angle. 😉

    ~Anna

  8. JDM

    Oh, I like the green one! You’re lucky to be so photogenic!

    Hopefully there will be some time before year’s end to work on Renaissance Faire outfits for next season. (My family gets to attend free thanks to a friend who works there during the season–hooray cheap entertainment!) They can be modest too! And head coverings were very much a part of medieval times–if not for religious reasons, then for practical reasons.

  9. Very pretty…the ‘flower-dy’ one is my favorite!

  10. I like the green one best, but they both look great. 😀

  11. That is NICE Maggie, especially the top one. I too would be very interested in the pattern if you were open. I don’t sew yet, but do plan to learn. This would be just the sort of thing i’d love to make….

    Peaceful Night, Wendy

  12. Amanda

    Hey, I think I’ve got that same pattern! I found it brand new at a garage sale for 25 cents. I’ve cut out the pattern pieces , but haven’t gotten around to cutting out the fabric yet. Thanks for the encouragement! Your jumpers look lovely!!

  13. Leta

    I’m jealous… I wish I could sew.

  14. Terrie

    They are both beautiful jumpers. I think that in this case the green one had the advantage of a green background with better lighting. I also like how the green one seems to show off the advantage of that jumper….You know how you get a skirt and vest, with the comfort of a dress.

    Can’t wait to see some more:)

  15. Cindy

    I’ve been looking for a pattern that I like. These jumpers are really cute and look comfy. I’d be interested in specifics on a pattern, too. Blessings!

  16. They look very nice. I especially like the flower print, it is really pretty.

  17. Maggie, your jumpers are awesome! And you look great in them! Good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

