USDA November Cost of Food

USDA Official Cost of Food for November 2007 

Or go straight to the PDF file here.

The official cost to feed a family of four on the Thrifty plan has risen from  $554.20 in October 2007  to 558.30 in November 2007, or about 1-extra dollar per week.

In November 2006 groceries cost $525.60 per month on the Thrifty plan. So in a year the price of groceries has risen $32.70 per month.

In November 2006 the weekly cost was $121.30.November 2007 the weekly cost was $128.80, or up $7.50 per week.

Charts and graphs are all well and good, but I think they don’t always represent the increases we see in the trenches of real life.

A previous commenter mentioned the rising cost of powdered milk. The cheapest place I can find it is at grocery store called Kroger’s. They’re store-brand tastes exceptionally good and costs $12.49 for a 20-quart/4-pound box. I can get a 22-quart box of Carnation brand at Sam’s for $13.23. Some stores are selling their 20-quart boxes for almost $15.00.

I don’t knwo how much fresh milk is because we so seldom buy it. I think I’ve seen it for over $4 a gallon, but I’m not sure how much more. One store is advertising that if you buy 6 gallons they’ll give you a seventh gallon free, but their milk is $5 a gallon, so it’s not much of a bargain, more of a trick to get more of one’s money.

Evaporated milk rose a full quarter per can last year. At my Dollar General it was 50-cents for several years and then went up to 75-cents a can. Small cans are 45-cents each, or equivalent to 90-cents for a big can. I almost never buy the small cans, too expensive.

How much are you paying for milk? Powdered or Fresh? And what other foods have risen dramatically in your neck of the woods? 

44 Comments

Filed under Budget, Low Cost Foods

44 responses to “USDA November Cost of Food

  1. Carol D

    Hi Maggie,

    I really LOVE your new blog. I didn’t think you could get any better than Hillbilly Housewife but you have picked a really good name and have outdone yourself!

    I am so looking forward to your completing the Food Storage section. While it is only me now (plus my loyal cat), my children are not into food and household necessities storage for lean times. A couple of them are really good at saving back money but do not store food or other necessities. I feel that I must make up for that and be prepared to provide for them if the stuff hits the fan and hard times are upon us (I think they already are)!

    I can shop at the military facilities and plan to check out the one closest to me soon. I just have to take gas into consideration. It is a bit of a distance from my home and with gas prices being what they are and climbing – well, that is a big factor!

    One big jump (there have been many) in price was the pound rolls of ground turkey and ground turkey sausage. I was buying it at Wal*Mart for less than $1 per pound and overnight it jumped to $1.37 per pound. Almost a 40% increase in price overnight!!

    One thing that has come to my attention is the size of the products. The price has remained the same but the 5 pound bag shrunk to 4 pounds. I guess they thought no one would notice!! But a 20% loss of product for the same price is still a 20% price increase – no matter how they sneak it in. Several products have taken that hit. Everything from cookies to sugar. While many of the items are not necessities, it does show one what the seller is doing and gives us cause to monitor the products that we personally purchase.

    Blessings to you – glad you’re back!!

  2. samnjam

    Eggs are a terrible price here, running $1.47-$2.29 for large size ones, and only a few pennies cheaper for medium. I’ve been doing what I can to reduce my family’s dependence on them until the prices either go down or I break down and pay the price.

    Also, flour is much higher than last year as the 2007 wheat harvest was very poor, both in terms of quantity and quality (at least in Kansas). And butter rose 50 cents a box in the last two weeks for some reason.

    I love your blog and your new website!

    Jamie in Kansas

  3. samnjam

    BTW, I was told the reason for the dramatic price increase for eggs and milk (and meat for that matter) was because animal feed prices have skyrocketed with the increased production of ethanol. I guess all our corn is going into that now. :\

  4. Seems like everything has gone up in price. I know alot of it has to do with the gas prices being so high. We are paying around $3 a gallon for milk. I try my best not to pay that price unless I absolutely have to. I usually can purchase it on sale for around $2.50 a gallon. Not much of a sale but anything helps. I have tried to take your advice on the dry milk but it is so high that it costs just as much as regular milk on sale. I have some powdered milk that a friend of mine gave me awhile back. I use that for cooking but when that’s gone I guess I will just have to use regular milk unless the price comes down by then.

    I have been able to keep my monthly grocery bill at around $200 a month for 4 people & 2 cats. It’s hard at times but God always goes shopping with me! ~Smile~

    Some things here in northern Indiana that have gone up in price are eggs, flour, meat, milk, cheese, sugar. I have noticed too that they are charging the same price (or more) for a less amount. That is aggravating!
    Blessings to you,
    Miki

  5. Milk here in Phoenix AZ is on sale this week for $1.99 a gallon. The sales are on 2-3 week cycles, so I can usually find milk for $2 a gallon. Because milk is so cheap, I can usually get fresh milk cheaper than powdered. Last time I checked a box of powdered milk (20 quarts) was $16. Sometimes, I can find it on sale for $12. I buy it then for baking and cooking.

  6. Daisy

    Here in a Salt Lake City suburb, milk is about $3/gallon. I think that’s up from a year ago, maybe by 50 cents or so. At a chain of local grocery stores (Macey’s), they’re having a Preparedness Sale, and I just checked it out, mostly to buy powdered buttermilk (so I could make your whole-wheat biscuits). The powdered buttermilk was $15 for 3.5 lb. I wanted to buy every single Preparedness item, and there were a hundred or so, but I limited it to 25 lb of brown rice ($11) and 25 lb of sugar ($9).

    Canned milk was on sale for 50 cents (usually 79 or 89 cents…I can’t recall). I checked the price of store-brand (Western Family) powdered milk, and it was $16 for 20 quarts, making it more expensive than regular milk (I prefer it anyway, for convenience). Earlier today, I bought powdered milk at WalMart for $5.18 for 8 quarts, so that’s 65 cents a quart versus the Macey’s price of 80 cents a quart, and 75 cents a quart for regular milk. I’ve never seen powdered milk at Costco, but maybe I’m not looking hard enough.

    I was shocked at the price of eggs. I buy cage-free eggs that are usually about $3/dozen, and they continue to be that price. So I hadn’t noticed that regular eggs had doubled in price. I didn’t check the WalMart price, but at Macey’s they were $2/dozen for large eggs, and I’m pretty sure that’s at least twice what they were a year ago, or even six months ago.

    The other day, at another local grocery store, I wanted to buy grapes, and they were $4/lb! I thought it was a mistake, but it was not. Around here, produce seems to be considerably more expensive than a year ago…maybe by 20 or 30%, but I’m just guessing. There are still occasional bargains to be found.

    I love the website, Maggie. Thank you.

  7. kristina

    i live in melbourne, australia and pay for fresh full cream milk store brand $2.60, brand $3.20 for 2lt
    skim milk, store brand $3.20 and brand anywhere from $4.00 to $6.00
    powdered milk i buy is skim and store brand $6 to $7 and make 10lt of milk

  8. Michelle

    Fresh milk = 2 gallons for $7 on sale here
    Dry milk (we use mostly) = just under $13 for 20 quarts of Great Value brand. I’ll have to see if Kroger is cheaper.

    Do you think the Kroger brand tastes better than the Great Value brand?

    Carrots, celery, iceburg lettuce have all gone up. Celery costs me $2 a bag now. Used to be $1. Carrots have doubled from 50 cents to 1.00 a bag. Iceburg lettuce has gone to about $2 a head.

    As mentioned previously, eggs are going up.

    Baking staples are staying the same here. Meat seems to go in cycles.

  9. Cari

    Powdered milk used to be $1.76 a pound at the bulk store, now its $3.20. The boxes are between $15 and $20 for the big box, but I haven’t tried the “cheap” Kroger (Food 4 Less) just the expensive one (Fred Meyers).

    Maybe one day when I have free time (ha ha) and am over that way I’ll pop in just for fun and see what their price is.

    Fresh milk on sale is $2.50, regular price is $3.49 to $4.99 depending on where I go (you know the desperation mom and pop market…).

    Our family lives a life of feast and famine, too. We keep the dry milk around for the famine times, then we mix it half and half with fresh. It is worth the price for these times. Sort of an “ant” thing, I’ve got to be prepared for those times when we can’t buy anything…

    Honestly, I’d really like to buy a large bag of Morning Moos. Its not strictly 100% powdered milk but it tastes good. Maybe with our tax returns.

  10. Roxanna Meiske

    The cost of milk is about the biggest expense I have in feeding the day care children. I am on the food program (same program as the public schools) so I follow the same guide lines…Milk must be served at breakfast and lunch. They tell me it MUST be whole milk for children under 3 and 2% for children older than 3…I buy milk at a local grocery store chain (Randall’s) that is normally very expensive but to get you into the door milk is always on sale there at 2 gallons for $7.00…so $3.50 a gallon…I buy powdered milk from Sam’s Club and I use it for all cooking. I will also mix powdered milk with whole milk for make the 2%….it does help the milk go a little longer…

  11. mennomom

    Milk is about 3.00 a gallon here. Eggs are what I have noticed the biggest price raise in. If it werent for those zoning laws I would have my own chickens.
    Meat is also very expensive. I used to have a very reliable price book for Aldi, but I have noticed there prices keep fluctuating as well. At refund time I plan to stock up the freezer and pantry and see how long I can stretch it out.

  12. Paid $4.09 for a gallon of milk at discount store yesterday. It is usually the least expensive here.

  13. Rebecca F

    Here in South East WI it’s around $3.79 a gallon or so. A local grocery store every month has it for $2.50 a gallon so I stock up enough for the month. The powdered, last time I checked, was $15 for a 20 quart box.

  14. Autismama

    In addition to the way-too-high prices of milk and eggs, we’ve also seen a dramatic increase in the price of apples here in Washington State. One would think we’d have the cheapest apples in the country, since we grow most of them!
    In September, I was expecting to see some really great sale prices on apples, especially since we had a wonderful growing season last summer. But they were even more expensive (about 50% higher) than previous years. Non-sale apple prices hover between 99 cents and $!.99 per pound, and I can occasionally find a great sale on bulk apples – 68 cents per pound if you purchase 10 pounds at a time. When this happens, I split them with a neighbor. But I do nitice that the bulk apples are often of a lower quality – I have to search through carefully to find very fresh-smelling aples w/out bruises or cuts.
    Hopefully my backyard Golden Delicious apple trees will begin producing next year. DH also mentioned we could pick out a couple 3-year-old dwarf fruit trees at Costco – they’re only $9 each. What a bargain!

  15. Hi Maggie,
    I like your new site. Milk here in Oklahoma is $3.75 to $4.25 a gallon. Eggs at the store are $3.00 for 18. I have chickens so usually have eggs, if not the neighbor does for $1.25 to $1.50 dz.
    Maggie, do you use kefir? If so do you have any recipes to use it in. I make bread with it, baked oatmeal and thats about all I know to do with it. Cant stand to just drink it. Can I put my email so if any of your dear readers have recipes they could send them to me maybe? I do also use it anywhere it calls for buttermilk or sour cream with great success.
    thanks and good to see you again.
    debbieo
    bootstrapdko@yahoo.com

  16. Here in BC, Canada, the best deal on powdered milk that I can find is about $22 per bag that would make 22 litres. To simplify for Cdn$/litres conversions, powdered is slightly MORE expensive than fresh milk!

  17. In Pennsylvania we have state minimum prices so milk never goes on sale. Whole milk is around $4.00 per gallon. I buy raw milk from a farm and that just went up from $3.25 to $3.75. I don’t think that there is anything in the grocery store that has not gone up!

  18. Cari

    Here in Oregon, just outside Portland, I can pick up second quality apples at 29 cents a pound, any amount. You do have to dig through the bin, and sometimes they are mealy. However, they taste great in pies, crisps, cobbler, oatmeal, as an apple tortilla (add just a pinch of cinnamon sugar and throw under the broiler), and as apple sauce, or any other way you might use an apple.

    They are grown on a farm just outside Hood River. They are the best deal that I can find, otherwise we are paying crazy prices even just for the simplest fresh veggies: carrots, onions, celery.

    Today at Fred Meyers (Kroger) I picked up my seeds to start some of my veggies next month. The store had a 40% off coupon. I’ll start them in February with a milk jug starter (I linked it in another comment). This seems to be the simplest way for me to combat food prices…grow my own!

  19. Maggie, Here in South Florida we are paying 5.74 per gallon for name brand milk, or 5.19 per gallon for store-brand. I am now mixing half whole milk and half powdered milk or water, and my kids are fairly happy with it. This means I am now paying about 2.80 per gallon instead of 5.19 (factoring in the cost of powdered milk) If I just add water it’s half the cost.

    Also- does Powdered milk go bad? I’ve had mine for almost 3 years and it tastes downright rancid. But the date on the box is not outdated yet.

  20. Denise

    While president Clinton was in office I was very displeased with some of the thing that he had done. To be honest we live very close to Arkansas (it is my fathers home) so we knew him and hadn’t been pleased with him for a lot of years.

    One day I was complaining rather heartily about him when a woman I knew asked “Have you prayed for him? In the scripture we are commanded to do so.” I wasn’t very happy with her comment. But the more I thought about it the more I realized that the reason I was so angry with her comment was that she was right. The Lord really convicted me of that. We think that we appoint our leaders but they are appointed by God and we are commanded to pray for them.

  21. Honey Dew

    I pay 2.50 to 2.40 for Walmart brand soy milk, 2 quarts,or silk if it is on sale. I do have two containers of powdered milk in the cupboard, but my daughter wouldn’t touch it the one time I made it, and my husband will only drink soy milk. I liked it. 1.98 for skim milk , two quarts, store brand. My powdered milk, store brand was 5.48, and I don’t know what I paid at the cheap store here. That makes my powdered milk 2.74 a gallon, or 1.37 per two quarts. That makes the skim milk 3.96 per gallon. And the soy is 5. It’s too bad that they won’t use the powdered milk. And we are going vegan soon, my husband and I. Fruit is high here. In Michigan.

  22. I just wanted to let you know that your recipe for Seitan makes excellent “chicken” nuggets. My kids give their hearty approval. I cut it into nugget sized cubes, rolled them in a bit of egg and bread crumbs then baked them in the oven. Now, if I could just figure out how to make them in dinosaur shapes, we would be great. Thanks! I hope you feel better soon. 🙂

  23. brandini

    We’re on WIC but the milk price where I am is $3.99 for while and $3.79 for skim. Eggs run $2 a dozen, or so.

  24. Mrs. B

    First of all, let me tell you what a blessing your blogs and websites have been to my family. As the wife of a preacher such information is worth much more than its weight in gold.
    We’re down here in AL, and milk has managed to creep up to $4. I try to counsel young moms to shop “on the perimeter of the store.” Yes, it’s a little more work having to cook from scratch, but once you get used to it, it’s so much cheaper and healthier! A good freezer for under $200 more than pays for itself in a short time (as well as a crockpot). Also, homeschooling turns out to be a benefit. I’m sure that I’d pay anywhere from $80-$100 for lunch for my older children. Since they are here with me they can gobble up the yummy leftovers, fresh fruits, and good choices.

    Okay, all that said, Now, I would like your opinion. How concerned do we need to be about the corporations that sell us food. If, for example, it is reported that a company has engaged in less-than-fair tactics with their suppliers, what is a proper Christian response? (I’m not inclined to judge-you know, “that measure ye mete shall be measured back unto you…”, but at the same time I wonder if it’s a bad idea to pretend that we don’t know such things when we really do.)

  25. curious. the pantry list says powdered “whole” milk. Does anyone know where I can buy this? I’ve searched high and low. My kids absolutely love the “Swiss Whey D’lite” milk sub. Even my very very very picky DH liked it. It tastes and smells like real milk. I would like to try mixing the nonfat instant and whole powdered milks together though…

  26. maria

    From Long Island, NY – 3.50 a gallon of milk is advertised with pride. a loaf of healthy bread (not white flour and containing whole grains) is 2/$5 at sales (about once a month), vegetarian-fed large eggs(no drugs or hormones either) are about $3.99 a dozen. We are tightening hard and are getting along at about 110-125 dollars a week for a family of three, with all meals from scratch, and including paper goods and cleaning supplies/toiletries. Thanking God daily for 99-cent stores, huge bargain bags and trays of slightly marred vegetables for the soup and stew pot, and an inbred love of cooking and math. Fresh produce has shot up to literally obscene levels this past week, with some usually trivial items like scallions (3 bunches for $2.00!) literally doubling in price.

  27. Sheree

    Milk here in northwestern Indiana is right @ $4 a gallon where we live. Our local grocery store runs an add where you can get one gallon for $1.99 if you buy $10 worth of groceries….this week you could get a gallon for $1 when you bought $10 worth of groceries. I am so tempted to break up all my shopping into $10 increments just to get the milk. My 7 yr. old is insulin dependant, and milk is his preferred snack at bedtime and whenever his sugar is low, because it keeps his sugar up longer and better than anything else we have tried. We use alot of milk. I am shopping today at a few stores when I go to town (its an hour away but we planned a multiple errand trip) so I will let you know the prices on the powdered milk while I am there as well.

  28. Michelle

    Question about Pineapple Upside-Down Cake:

    Is it supposed to have an egg in the batter?

    Thanks!

  29. Melinda

    We are paying $4.19 – $4.29 a gallon in North Florida. The cheapest I have found is $3.90 at Costco. The price of eggs and fresh fruit has gone up as well.

  30. Marlana

    I pay about $3.50 a gallon for the cheapest brand of fresh milk. The higher brands are running over $5 now. Eggs are around $2.29 and the regular eggs are the same price as the cage-free eggs so I always buy the cage-free when that’s the case.

  31. Kristen

    Whole milk by the gallon at Safeway here in Colorado is 2/$6. Wal Mart is $4.25 and Sam’s is 3.50

  32. Hi Maggie,

    I was wondering if youve seen this?

    http://thewalledgarden.blogspot.com/2008/01/can-low-income-people-afford-good-food.html

    Havent had a chace to read it over (it leads to other links leads to other links with more details) but it looks interesting. He does use meat which i know you are letting go of, but seems like there might still be some pretty good stuff there…

    Peaceful Day : ) Wendy

  33. Jeanna

    Here in western NC eggs are ranging about $2.25 to $2.35 per dozen. I was able to get cage free organic eggs for only $.04 more this past week. Our Milk prices are–for store brands–between $3.89 (Walmart) to $4.19. There are no deals to be had here. We are a small town of about $10,000 and have 4 grocery stores. The only problem is that 3 of them are the same company (not kidding). I used to have goats which I milked and chickens for eggs. I am getting more chickens soon. I haven’t decided about goats yet.

  34. Cassandra

    Hello all. I am new here to this blog and site, I was an avid reader at HH, and still am but just recently found my way over here. I love it! Thanks for all you do Miss Maggie!
    On to the issue of eggs and milk. They have really hit the roof here in Nebraska. We are close to $2 a dozen. We buy 18 at a time to save on cost, but now there’s not much of a difference. I did just hit a sale this past week at WalMart for 18 eggs for $1.98, so I got 3. :O) Eggs, eggs and more eggs. I also have been buying the cage free/organic now because they haven’t gone up in price here, so they are only a very small bit more expensive (Depends on the brand). So, I suppose the silver lining is that now we get better quality eggs for about the same price. :O)
    Milk here has gone up dramatically in the last 6 months. We are also at about 3.50 a gallon and up (skim to whole) at the cheapest. Our local corner market (we live in a small town of 844 people) is over $4 a gallon. It makes me want to cry. I’m trying to feed my family of 5 on $75 a week and it’s getting more and more difficult by the month. Items and meals that used to be by trusty frugal stand-bys are now too pricey. Needless to say I am planning a large garden this year and a thorough search of information on how to store and preserve it all for the winter and spring. I wish seeds weren’t so pricey either, but at least I get a lot of them! :O)
    I would like to pose a question to all the ladies here as well. What do you do about the dilemma of “buy local” vs. “frugal responsibilty”? Just curious how others have dealt with this. My own personal solution for now is going to have to be go REALLY local….Like my own back yard local. ;O)
    <
    Cassandra

  35. Ready for this, Miami Beach Florida Publix – a gallon of milk from MacArthur Dairy is . . . $6.33!
    That’s up a couple bucks from last year. Funny, my salary didn’t go up 30%. Yikes, I picked the wrong year to have a one year old.

  36. wilkinson4jesus

    Hi Miss Maggie,
    I posted this on our sight the 21st of January. Just kinda slow letting you know.. sorry.

    We were very happy that Amy awarded us the Blogging with Purpose Award!

    We had to give it to five people. We choose you. You have been a big help to us (me)! Home schooling, covering, and frugal living, the list goes on!

    See our post under general comments if you have time to see the others we listed, and the rules… didn’t think you wanted our whole post posted here. 🙂 If you dont want to take time to do it, it is all right. I just wanted a chance to thanks again to you.
    God Bless!
    Anna Wilkinson
    http://www.simplelivingak.wordpress.com

  37. Wendiesioux

    I usually buy powdered milk because it used to be cheaper. Right now at Save A lot it is 7 dollars for 2 gallons. But I am still buying powdered because it lasts longer and I usually only use it for cooking. If I buy fresh, DH will drink a half gallon by himself in one sitting!

    Anyway, last week at JayC (Kroger) fresh milk was on sale for $3 a gallon. It has gotten as high as $4.

    Two weeks ago, eggs were on sale at JayC for 99 cents a dozen. I have been paying about $2.79 for 18 eggs at Save A Lot recently.

    I almost forgot, I live in southwest Indiana. 🙂

    Wendy

  38. maria

    To Cassandra – I live on Long Island, NY and my soil is not super-great. If you are near a Walmart, you can buy seed in their garden center in smaller-quantity-than-usual packets at a very reasonable price – 10 and 30 cents (look there or call them NOW). I love these packs because they let me try out different things and see how well they do in my garden without sacrificing the cost of more expensive seed which could get wasted if the variety doesn’t produce well. The same company that packs for Walmart (American Seed) also sells packets to chain drug stores (like walgreen’s and CVS) and 99cent stores, and if you hit it right (start looking NOW!) you can get these at 10 packs for a dollar! Now, some folks might say that American Seed only sells obsolete or low- yielding junk varieties while others will call them “heirloom” . All I know is I don’t want to spend a ton of money when I need to find out how well a specific vegetable will do in my yard. If I am satisfied , then maybe I can find the money for a fancy-shmancy variety next season. There are also all kinds of seed-sharing networks you can plug into from the internet if you have the time for corresponding and know exactly what you want to grow.

    As for the local vs. frugal debate – in the NY tri-state area, many better-off folks equate local with trendy and expensive boutique grocers, not stopping by your local truck farm and picking up a bushel of produce at lower than supermarket prices. The idea of organic combined with local send the price up even further because its not a matter of survival for these folks, it’s another status symbol . (Their logic runs like this – See how much better I can take care of my family than you can?, I can afford to buy all organic and local everything and spend two arms and a leg doing it without breaking a sweat! And I can support all those poor, starving local farmers I’ve never even seen or spoken to, too! ;D)
    So for the regular folk like our family, is it affordable? is the first question, and if it’s affordable because it’s local, then so much the better. But on the East coast that’s a very seasonal thing. Like you , local and seasonal is mostly in my back yard!

  39. autismama

    The ‘local vs. frugal’ issue has weighed on my mind quite a bit ever since we moved to out current home in a very small (500 folks) comminuty in rural western WA state. During the spring, summer and fall, I drive past more than half a dozen family farm stands on my way to the big grocery stores ‘in town’ 35 minutes away. Often, I’ll stop because I know that the food, like strawberries, corn, apples, and berries in the summer, is fresher (and therefore more nutritious for my family) and will taste better than anything I can find at the supermarket. But I also know that the supermarket’s loss-leader sales on things like apples, onions, and potatoes are half the price of the farm stands. I realize that supporting local farmers is important, and that the food they sell is at least slightly more healthy for my family. But I also know that I am commanded to be a good steward of the finances in my control. So I try to make the best choice I can – buying at the supermarket if the price difference is great, and at the farm stands if the price is the same or nearly so. I am reminded that the Proverbs 31 woman “…brings her food from afar…” and am comforted that I was not designed or intended to take on the pressure of purposing to buy only local, or only organic foods, or keeping local farmers afloat, if those choices are not the best for my family and our resources. I can cross those worries off my list!

  40. Joanofarc

    I just want to say THANK YOU for your hillbilly housewife site and this new one! I grew up in a family where my mother only ever cooked prepackaged foods and I never learned to make do, or cook or bake anything. You can imagine the expense and waste of that. Not to mention the health issues. I hear people talk about memories of life during the great depression, and recipes from cooks who were cleverly able to make do and make it good! Since my husband passed away, finances have been so hard, and I have a little boy with autism, so everything is hard. Finding this resource, with its common sense advice and practical recipes that dont cost a fortune has been an absolute godsend to us. We are vegetarians so discovering that we can make our own veggie burgers for a small fraction of the price of the prepackaged ones is just…well it almost brings a tear to my eye. So thanks again for rescuing us from ramen noodles and boxed mac n cheese.

  41. Cassandra

    Thanks for your thoughts on my question ladies. I am in the same boat. Our farm fresh produce stands on the side of the road, or even at our farmer’s market are way more pricey than the loss-leader sales at the supermarket. Of course then I think about whether or not it’s worth the nutritional trade-off or the taste, etc. I just go in circles and make my stomach hurt. I think I need to just make a choice and stick with it. Otherwise I am always feeling like I should have tried it the other way, or tried to combine the different approaches, and then my head hurts from all that thinking, lol. I guess I had better start looking for seeds by the sound of things, and praying as well for a good garden. ;O)
    <
    Cassandra

  42. MamaNavyBrat

    We have been blessed to get WIC continually since late 1996, so we don’t have to pay for most of our milk. I noticed that flour has gone up in our local (Western PA) grocery stores but hasn’t affected us as we buy 50# bags at the Amish

  43. Good, I thought I was the only one going crazy about all the out of control prices on everything!! My husband and three children live just outside of San Antonio Texas . We live on acerag and rais our own fast growing chickens, turkeys, sheep, pigs and a cow every few years for slaughter. We also have free range chickens for eggs and every spring and fall grow our own garden. Guess we have it better then some with the supply of meat and eggs as well as the ability to grow a garden. Everything has gone up from bread to toilet paper down here. I find that shopping at dollar stores can be money saving but be on the look out for items that are the same price as your normal shopping places or higher, in short you have to know what you pay for things before shopping a places like this or you chould spend way more then you would normaly. Flea markets /swop meets and garage sales and some times farmers markets have great finds from clothes, furniture, home decor to food and diapers. It’s hard for us to do hand me downs in this family because the oldes is a boy but he is 7 years older then our next son and then there is our daughter who is 15 years younger then our oldest and 8 years younger then our middle. I have not tried bakeing my own bread but am studying up on it now and look foward to doing a lot of bakeing soon. I am also going to attend a canning party to learn how to as we say in Texas “put up my own veggies and fruits” this spring. My husband is a hunter during deer season so we also eat venison. We make our own sausage links and breakfast pan sausage. We have deer jerky and the best part of the deer is the “back strap”, you cook it like chicken fried stake. Whole milk is running from $3.69 to over $4.00 and 1 percent /2 percent to skim is well over $4.50. If we think prices are bad now just wait till this fall when we get close to the election and holidays. I am buying my canned green bean, corn and Thanksgiving/ Christmas fixings now while they are what we will be calling cheap later this year. If you can find the money and the items you already know you use year after year during this time of the year I would buy them if I were you. I was thinking of the powdered milk and had tried it as a child ( didn’t care for it then) thought they may have improved it by now. Thought it would be a lot cheaper but it sounds like there is not too much differance in price so I will stick with the store bought whole milk for now. Using the powdered milk for cooking is a really great idea so next trip to the store I will be picking myself up a small box of the powdered. I read a lot of the responces and saw a few things unfamiliar to me such as Kefir, Seitan as well as Swiss Whey D’Lite milk sub. Can anyone give me help on these items and how to use them as well as making your own yogert? Are there items out there that folks like us can buy to make our own butter and cheese? I’m a first timer at this sight and I am really enjoying it. Thanks for all the good information and for letting me know that I’m not the only one who is paying way too much for everything.
    Robin in Texas

  44. I feel one of your ads caused my internet browser to resize, you may well need to set up that on your blacklist.

Leave a Reply

