More Updates

  • Creamy White Bean & Vegetables Soup— Hearty winter fare. Nourishing and comforting on cold afternoons.
  • Curried Chickpeas & Sweet Potatoes–Reminiscent of a chicken dish my Mom made for years. I prepared this for lunch on Wednesday when my mom brought my nephew Oscar to visit. Served it with stewed apricots and yogurt and was delighted at how much she liked it. I’m so used to the guys fussing abut everything I cook, I had forgotten what a pleasure it is to cook for someone who appreciates it. Fred likes this dish enough not to complain when I prepare it, but Mom really recognized it for how good it is. Made from canned goods, it’s a great pantry meal.
  • Maple Nut Bars. Fred’s favorite bar cookies. I make these with genuine maple syrup because it has slightly kinder effects on DH bloodsugar levels than other sweeteners. Fiber in the whole wheat flour, fat from the butter, and fat & protein in the nuts makes this bar a good choice for diabetics because it doesn’t make bloodsugar spike so badly.
  • Fudgy Carob Brownies. Chocolate lovers won’t like these, but Carob lovers will sing angelic songs about them. Just the right combination of sweet, chewy, richy, fudgy and the tiniest touch of bitter to make it all perfect.

BTW, do y’all like the black and white images, or the color images, or a mix or couldn’t care less one way or the other? Am very interested in responses.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “More Updates

  1. Billie

    Maggie, I just want to let you know it is so great to be seeing new content and new recipes!

    I always liked the cute little black and white images. To me that is one of the most charming parts of the site (aside from your writings style). But color is interesting now and then for a change.

  2. I love the black and white, too.

    Bless you, darlin’!

  3. Avoiding confusion…the above comment was me!

  4. Sarah in AR

    I really like the black and white as well.

  5. Thank you Ladies. I love the Black and White but was worrying that maybe I needed to “update” my look. B& W is my favorite and working with color is hard on me. B&W is just easier, so I’m glad yall like it too.
    🙂 m

  6. Michelle

    PTL it is SO good to see you active again, Maggie! 🙂 Many blessings to you & yours!

  7. Kat

    I’m glad to see your new site! I like the black and white images, it gives it a great vintage look!

  8. Lynn Marie

    Welcome back! I’m so glad to have found you again. I really missed you. Thank you for all you have done for my family in the past and all you will be doing in the future.

  9. Roxanna Meiske

    I love the black and white. I don’t think you need to UP-DATE anything. I think that is part of the”problem” everyday :NEW and IMPROVED is better than simple and straight forward, plain old black and white information shared…(not sure if I am understood here) Miss Maggie I really enjoy the information as presented. I am 55 almost 56. So I guess I am an old fashioned kind of person. Roxie

Leave a Reply

