Leaving HBHW, The Rest of the Story . . .

1.  Maggie dear, will you please e-mail me your mail address, I have a few small goodies to send.

2. I’ll add links to other blogs as I figure out how to do it. Meredith, thanks for linking to the new place, it’s not exactly up and running, but it’s close and you’re welcome to link as you please.

3. Thanks for all the lovely comments. Apparently I have to approve the comments for them to appear below. If it’s possible to make them appear without my approval then I’ll make that happen. I hate having to approve comments first, it’s like having another baby to watch.

So, what happened that made me want to leave HBHW and start something new?

It’s not that complicated really, I wasn’t feeling like the HBHW anymore. I was overwhelmed with the number of emails I received. I felt unable to keep up with daily maintenance. It was a combination of a lot of things. When Suzanne came to me and was willing to take it on, I felt like the Lord was in it. After a lot of prayer, it seemed even more like His will, so I simply said “Yes Sir.” I think Suzanne is taking HBHW where the Lord wants it to be. She’s more responsive to the readers. She’s able to maintain things better and she is the right woman to take on the job.

Mel from PH offered me a bit of insight on the issue. She said that after my house was remodeled, I didn’t live in a small shack anymore. It’s more like a modern lodge now. Small as lodges go, but with the same vacationy-living in the woods feeling. It’s hard to be the Hillbilly Housewife with improved standards of living. There is less of an authenticity to it for me.

I still live a frugal, mostly simple, lifestyle though. I’m still Maggie and still write things that are fun to share. I’m not ready to be an invisible anonymous entity on the web. I was just ready for a fresh start.

I like the name Frugal Abundance. I’ve had it on my mind for a couple of years and I feel it better suits this stage of my life. To me the new name implies how much fuller my life is when I keep things simple. Money is all well and good, but frugality is a sport and I hope to one day become an expert player. Plus I feel that the Lord has provided me with an enormous abundance in my life. I’m overflowing with contentment, creative spark, imagination, good friends, interesting projects, loving family, peace of mind, furry kitties, a good marriage, fussy children, and so many other things.

My material needs are met with extra luxuries too. I love my running water, both hot and cold. My stove, refrigerator, and freezer work perfectly day in an day out. Well, the refrigerator will have to be replaced in the next couple of years, maybe in 2008, depending on how long it holds out, but it still keeps the milk cold and still freezes ice. These are all luxuries that even King Solomon, for all his riches, would never have had. Even my broom and vacuum cleaner are luxuries. A dirt floor doesn’t require either. My floors need both though, and that’s my definition of abundance.

One last thing is that I don’t eat very much meat anymore. Not completely vegetarian, but close. A Pescatarian is a vegetarian who also eats fish and/or seafood. I’m mostly pescatarian these days.

I thought in my heart about what was the most authentic way to live. God gave Noah permission to eat meat after the Flood. Before that many scholars believe people (and animals) were all vegetarian. So I know that according to the bible I can eat meat as I please.

One of my goals in life is to live as authentically as I can. I’m not able to articulate exactly what this means to me, but part of it is aligning my actions and behavior with my morals and beliefs. So I have considered which animals I would theoretically be willing to kill for food if that option were open to me. I figure that if I’m willing to kill the animal myself then eating the meat from that animal is a reasonably moralistic thing for me to do. If I’m not willing to kill an animal, then eating it’s meat is like “cheating” somehow. Paying someone else to do my dirty work is a cop-out. Especially when I’m not willing to ever do the job myself.  The behavior and beliefs just don’t add up together.

 So I wondered to myself which animals I was willing to kill myself and then eat at the dinner table. Cows? I’m willing to milk them, willing to do the work to make cheese, butter and other dairy products. But willing to kill them . . . Nope. I’m not willing to do that. I lived on a dairy farm as a teenager and fed the baby calves. I liked cows and honestly I don’t have it in me to kill them. So what about pigs, sheep, turkeys, chickens, rabbits, squirrels, deer? Nope, not willing to kill them. Well, maybe a chicken every now and then. My great-grandpa and even my Granny both killed chickens as a matter of normal life. I’ve watched my great-grandpa do it and it’s not pretty, but under certain circumstances I might be willing to do it. We have many wild turkey’s in our area. I watch them in our yard, on the driveway, in the neighbor’s yard and the woods. I’m not willing to kill them. They deserve to live, not die and fill my freezer.

Fish and seafood on the other hand . . . Gimme a hook, a knife and a cook pot and I’m ready to get cookin’! I’m willing to kill, gut, scale, boil alive, and in general make a feast of fish and seafood. So in my effort to live authentically, fish and seafood are fine to eat, since I am quite willing to kill them myself. Chicken might be okay every now and then, but not on a regular  basis.

Thus pescatarian is where I find myself. I’m still thinking over these things, still subject to change my mind of course. Still feeling sort of new about this idea.

HBHW did not represent this belief structure, but Frugal Abundance can.

And that’s the “Rest of the Story.”

28 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

28 responses to “Leaving HBHW, The Rest of the Story . . .

  1. Glad to see you back blogging Miss Maggie! I’m looking forward to seeing this new adventure unfold.

  2. Thanks Michelle, I am too. 🙂

  3. Love your new site Fugal Abundance and your blog too! 🙂 I already added you to my favorites.

    There really are times throughout our lives when our situation/needs etc can change. Not everything changes of course, but even with me now that my son is 23 and our dds are teenagers certain things have changed in our house, especially with the groceries :).

    I have followed you around the web for 4 1/2 years now and have enjoyed every minute.

  4. Hi Heather, I think this point in my life is definitely one of those “changing times”. I’m a grandmother now. My boys are pre-teen and teen. Fred and I have more time together, and unless the Lord gives us a miracle, there won’t be any more babies in our future. We’re adjusting to middle-age.

    Thanks for being a faithful reader. Blessings 🙂 M

  5. Sheree

    Miss Maggie,

    Ecclesiastes 3:1-8 says:

    1To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:

    2A time to be born, and a time to die; a time to plant, and a time to pluck up that which is planted;

    3A time to kill, and a time to heal; a time to break down, and a time to build up;

    4A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance;

    5A time to cast away stones, and a time to gather stones together; a time to embrace, and a time to refrain from embracing;

    6A time to get, and a time to lose; a time to keep, and a time to cast away;

    7A time to rend, and a time to sew; a time to keep silence, and a time to speak;

    8A time to love, and a time to hate; a time of war, and a time of peace.

    You season as the HBHW has passed and now you are in a new season. I pray that you will be as blessed and as much of a blessing with Frugal Abundance as you were with HBHW. You have helped so many women and I am so thankful to know you (via internet) and I am very thankful that you have this new site up. As we move forward in life, our seasons change, and your new season with Frugal Abundance will help many, I am sure!
    God bless, and I am so happy to see you blogging again.

  6. Hello there, Miss Maggie! Glad to see your new blog is up here, and I’ll be sure to let people know where they can come and see you.

  7. Hey Miss Maggie,

    I have no worries that you are one person in this world who will always stay true to yourself. That’s one of the reasons I’ve always enjoyed Hillbilly Housewife, and why you have such a loyal following.

    Looking forward to whatever you have to share with us in your new adventures…thanks for letting us all be part of your world!

  8. Sheree, Your choice of bible verses is spot-on. I had forgotten about them, but I do feel they are representative of where I find myself these days. I’m glad I could be of help to you in the past, and hope that in the future I can do the same.

  9. Howdy Mama Squirrel,

    Thanks for the blog and links to my new site. I’m interested to see how many folks will find and visit the new place. Hopefully a LOT :-p

  10. Aww Karen, that’s the nicest thing to say. 🙂 Thank-you.

  11. Hi Maggie~

    I love that you are growing and changing, we all do, and that you are not feeling as if you MUST continue to do what you’ve always done. The Lord takes us through varying seasons of life, and this is your new one, Frugal Abundance.

    Glad that you are still around sharing and touching lives of homemakers all over the internet. 🙂

    Kristi

  12. Thanks Kristi, I’m happy that I’m still able to be here too. 🙂 M

  13. Mandy

    I am thankful for this new site as I have recenlty become what I call an aquavegan. I am allergic to eggs and honey and can tollerate neither lactose or milk protiens. I love HBHW as I have told many friends about that site as a resource for saving money, but there were many meat recipes that didn’t work for me. I can’t wait for FA to be completely up.

  14. Thank-you Mandy. Hee! I love Aquavegan! Very clever. It will take time to develop and perfect my recipes but I’m enjoying it, as are the kids. My oldest is Vegetarian except for pepperoni on his pizza and my Youngest has begun preferring Veggie meals this past year. Fred is still a carnivore, but the guys and I do just fine with veggie food. Thanks for sharing your dietary practices, I’m interested in learning more about all this stuff. 🙂 M

  15. So glad to see that you are back and blogging again. I have enjoyed reading your posts both at HBHW and now here.

    Thanks!

  16. Anon Fan

    “I’m willing to kill, gut, scale, boil alive….”

    “Boil alive.” Lobsters aren’t exactly warm and fuzzy, but they are living creatures and, for all we know, feel pain just as intensely as we do.

    Can this be more compassionate than cutting off a chicken’s head?

  17. Are you Vegan AnonFan? I would be interested in hearing more about your philosophies.

  18. Gilana

    Maggie, I’m happy to see you blogging again and I love to watch the genesis of a new website. I’ll be here checking in a lot, because I just can’t help myself. So glad to see you back!

  19. Dearest Maggie, I’m so glad you’ve found yourself a new place to express yourself… and your thoughts… and who you truly “are” at this season in your life. I too have changed over the years, since my early back-to-the-land days. Oh, I’m the same person inside, so to speak, but many of my habits and ways of doing things have changed since I first began my journey 25 years ago. Some may have to do with menopause and some may have to do simply with being tired of doing things the same ole way.

    At any rate, I guess what I’m trying to say is… good going, Maggie, and I look forward to walking down this new path with you too.

    Sincerely in Christ~ Pearl

  20. wilkinson4jesus

    So glad to see you back on the net Miss Maggie!
    We have loved reading your writings, and you have been an encouragement to me. When you wrote on headcovering, it helped me on my transition to covering. It is great to have you back. We are looking forward to your new blog!
    Covering in Alaska,
    Anna Wilkinson
    Simple Living Alaska

  21. Honey Dew

    My husbands kids and him are vegetarian so at home I cook vegetarian, we are seventh day adventists. I was looking at your old site and seen the 40 dollar plan and going through it, seeing how easy it would be to make it completely veggie. I was happy to come here and see most recipes here are already veggie. TVP is a time and money saver, oatmeal patties are another good sub for beef. When you get to that topic, I have some recipes that are good. Thank you for your invaluable service to those who need it.

  22. Lee

    I love that the recipes on your site are more vegetarian in slant. I haven’t eaten meat in any form for about 20 years now! I actually don’t even eat fish because my mom is fatally allergic to fish and thus we could never have it in the house and i never learned how to cook it.

    I still visit the HBHW site as well as your new site. I figure I can never get too much help and guidance in trying to live as frugally as possible.

    Regards, Lee

  23. I don’t know if this is the proper place for this, but I have just read “humble pie” about the pride of buying organics. I wanted to thank the writer for that. I work at a natural food cooperative and even with my discount cannot buy my groceries there because our budget is so tight. I have been under comdenation for a long time from some co-workers because they think my priorities are wrong (i need shoes, clothes, homescool suplies, etc. also for my children). I had bought organics in the past but it so strained our budget that I had to quit. I have felt guilty about not being able to feed m family the very best, but I know the Lord is in control. I just wanted to say how encouraging it was to know that others have had the same dilemma.thanks, kathleen

  24. janet parks

    miss maggie,
    i have been off line for awhile and found out that you were leaving hbhw about the time of my departure (a very sad day for me) i was so happy when i signed back on to find your new site you have been a blessing to me my husband children and neighbors thank you jan

  25. Leta

    Miss Maggie, I have a pescatarian for nearly 12 years, and I came to it by the exact same logic that you expressed here. (Gave me chills thinking about how similar our phrasing is, actually.) I was just tired of feeling like a hypocrite, like you said, letting someone else get their hands dirty on my behalf. Not a good feeling. Like the cup and the saucer that are clean on the inside but not the outside. Nice to hear about a kindred spirit out there.

  26. Dottie

    I am so glad I found this website! I about dropped my teeth when I saw that you could tell me how to do the gfcf diet on a limited budget. I’m dealing with gfcf due to my son’s autism. Buying premade items for the diet is a luxury we can’t always afford, with my husband being the only one to bring in a paycheck these days. The bean puree looks yummy and I cant wait to try it out for my family. Thanks again.
    Dottie

  27. Pingback: show me the money: part i, finding low-cost recipes « Dude, where’s the stove?

  28. Donna

    I have absolutly depended on your frugal menus. s
    Started on angel network menu, then $45, then $70. they have honestly saved my sanity during those times. I too have been trying too explain the reasoning behind veganism veg/lacto/pesco/aqua/tarian to my family for a while now and I would love to be able to use your menu for time and money saving that supports the idea if you have one to share.Please.

Leave a Reply

